Skip to content

Pushing Your Limits

March 31, 2011

Two stories about pushing your limits (at the gym):

A few weeks ago, my trainer had me do bicep curls on a declined (or inclined, pessimist vs. optimist) bench, like so:

(source)

I was using 12lb dumbbells and it was hard!  My right arm was doing okay, but my left arm, not so much.  I had to do 12 curls, and by the 6th one, my arm was having problems.  I struggled so much with the last three it was ridiculous!  So on Wednesday, she had me do them again.  And you know what, I didn’t struggle hardly at all!  Isn’t it amazing how quickly your muscles can adapt to new exercises?!  CRAZY!

On Tuesday I was all excited to start the C25K running at 6.2mph (the pace I’d need for a 30 minute 5K).  Well, on Wednesday with my trainer, after our two rounds of the weight lifting circuit, she said “Let’s go run.  How about a quarter mile at 6.5?”  Say wha?  That’s like almost 2.5 minutes running at a faster pace that I was used to.  And you know what?  I DID IT!  THREE TIMES!!  Needless to say, when I went to go run this morning (yup that’s twice this week!), I opted to go to week 3 of the C25K:

  • Jog at 6.2mph for 0.13 miles
  • Walk at 3.8mph for 0.12 miles
  • Jog at 6.2 for 0.25 miles
  • Walk at 3.8 for 0.25 miles.
  • Repeat

HOORAY!  Best part was that it only takes 25 minutes (including the warm up!)  OH YEAH!

Have you pushed yourself further recently?  Did you surprise yourself?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2011 9:48 AM

    I’m a HUGE fan of the lat pull-down machine and use it nearly every time I hit the gym, but recently I decided to up the weight…during my first set I thought I couldn’t handle it, but with a bit of resolution I surprised myself by nailing it! Love that feeling 🙂

    • April 7, 2011 12:49 PM

      Yeah, I’m realizing that sometimes I play it safe. I should definitely up my weights more than I do.

Leave a Reply

