Skip to content

Morning Exercise Challenge

March 29, 2011

I know that I’ve bemoaned it many a time on the blog, but to say that I am not a morning person would be a gross understatement.

Source

I am a night person.  I have not gone to sleep before 11pm, since I was 12 years old. When I was little (like under 5), my parents would dress me in the morning while I lay in bed, a bunch of dead weight.

Anyway, I have decided to challenge myself to start doing morning exercise.  Since we are busy with the dog and enjoying each other’s company (like Friday night date night), it’s hard to find time in the evenings to get to the gym.  I know that by going in the morning, I am essentially freeing up my evenings to perhaps clean my house (it’s seriously disgusting), work on wedding projects, or just snuggle with Matt.

Therefore I am challenging myself to go to the gym every weekday morning (except Wednesdays, since I have my trainer Wednesday evenings) for the next three weeks!  What’s at the end of those three weeks?  Why, my second dress fitting of course!  (Ah, there’s the real motivation!)  When I told Matt this, he scoffed and gave me a skeptical face.  So now I’m doing it to prove him wrong.  If I complete my challenge, he will give me lots of hugs.  If I don’t, I still get hugs.  😀

So what did I do this morning?  Well remember my goals for 2011?  One is to run a 5k in 30 minutes.  I did W1D1 of C25K with my walking at 3.8mph, and my running at 6.2mph.  I made it!  HA!

Are you a morning exerciser?  Want to join my personal challenge?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 29, 2011 8:05 AM

    I do believe I’m going to start running before work during the summer. Not now though … it’s too nice after work to not get out and do something.

    But if I can get myself to do it (which I’ve managed a few times like during boot camp and for a few months when I belonged to a local gym) I love the feeling of working out in the morning. Those experts aren’t joking when they say it gives you energy for the rest of the day. I drop coffee entirely during boot camp (and that’s saying something considering I’m getting up at 4:40 a.m.). Plus, working out when you’re still in a sleepy stupor is somehow easier. It’s like you’re too tired to notice that you’re kicking your own ass. And lastly, the best part is the sleep. Sleeping at night is amazing when you start your day working out — at least for me it is.

    You can do it, Anne! What can I do to help you? Need a morning call or text? Let me know! I roll out of bed at 6 a.m. every day.

    • March 30, 2011 7:47 AM

      Thanks Beckey. Matt gets up about 6:20 every day to run with April, so I should be good. I hope that I get in the rhythm of this morning thing. I was tired, but it should get better, right?

  2. Sara permalink
    March 29, 2011 8:48 AM

    I’m completely with you about being a night person! I’ve been doing a short workout in the morning though for maybe the last month…and it has been great. I have to keep telling myself, 30 minutes is better than nothing! Plus…when my day goes crappy or unproductive, I can think to myself…at least I worked out today! ha! Good luck and take it a day at a time!

  3. March 31, 2011 10:48 AM

    I am ONLY a morning workout person. If it doesn’t happen in the morning..it’s not going to happen. (though I have slept in every day this week!! i’m so sick of the cold!) Anyway, I’ll get back to it on Saturday…It completely frees up my night and makes me so much more relaxed! It’ll get better you’re going to like it much better! Just make sure you get to bed early enough that you get sleep (I try to be in bed by 11)

Leave a Reply

