Skip to content

Truly Madness

March 20, 2011

The other day I received an email from the Purdue Athletics informing me that the Purdue Women’s Basketball team was playing their first round NCAA game at UConn in Storrs, CT.  A quick trip to google maps, and I learned that Storrs is only 1.5 hours away from us.  So, even though I never actually went to a women’s basketball game while I was at Purdue, I decided that I needed to hear our fight song live!  Oh yeah, and cheer on the basketball team!

On our way down to UConn, we stopped for lunch.  My friend, Brent (who went to UConn for grad school,) recommended Willington Pizza House.

We had the specialty Red Potato Pizza.  Guess who had the broccoli and who had the bacon.

The pizza was pizza crust with red potatoes, sour cream, cheddar, and broccoli/bacon.  Mmmmm!  And the small was the perfect size for two hungry people.

I also found this piece of memorabilia, which reminded me of Julie, who tried Moxie the other day.

Finally we made it to UConn. We caught the second half of the UConn vs. Hartford game (FYI UConn is a #1, and Hartford is a #16).  It wasn’t really a contest.  Matt thought that UConn would win by 40.  I took the under.  I WON!  Final score: 75-39.

And now it was time for Purdue to take the court against Kansas State (#8 vs. #9).

We enjoyed singing along to the fight song.


Especially when Purdue won!  BOILER UP!  After the game we took some pictures.

Purdue Pete

We made it home in time to take April on a long walk (in daylight!) and see the Purdue Men tip off against VCU.  Now, aren’t I glad we made it back!  UGH! Purdue was outright dominated!  My bracket is officially busted!  (As is David Letterman’s)  It was a tough, tough game.  BOO!!  I guess that it is why they call it MARCH MADNESS!

Do you do a bracket?  How’s your bracket doing?

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

