Skip to content

Recreating a Date

March 13, 2011

Friday night.

We attempted to recreate the night that we got engaged!  We started with dinner at Avenue One, which is at the Hyatt.  (okay, this is not the same restaurant, but that’s okay.)  It is restaurant week in Boston, however we knew that we would be going for dessert later, so we ordered off of the regular menu.  This may have been our downfall.  Our reservation was at 6:30; we ordered about 6:50; our food came at 7:35!  AHHH!!  Our waiter and the manager recognized that this was an exorbitant amount of time and gave us 20% off of our bill.  YAY FOR CUSTOMER SERVICE!   I ordered the chicken pot pie.

Twas delicious!  And not just because I was STARVING!

We rushed out of dinner, to the Boston Opera House (which was luckily across the street!) to see MARY POPPINS!!

It was pretty amazing.  We were sitting in the 6th row and could see all of the actors’ facial expressions.  We also got to see/hear many of Bert’s little funny faces and side comments.  I think he was our favorite role!  My three favorite parts were:

  • Feed the Birds – I absolutely love that song.  So gorgeous!
  • Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious!  – the dance was amazing.  I think that we need to get someone on it to figure out the dance.  Jeff?  They spelled the word with their body!
  • Step in Time – right before it started I leaned over to Matt and said “I feel a big tap dance number coming on!”  Oh yeah!  It was so great!  And Bert danced on the wall and the ceiling.  So awesome!
  • Mary’s exit (okay that’s four parts, but this must be mentioned)

A great experience!  I’d highly recommend it to anyone who loves fun musicals!

After the show, we headed to Finale for dessert.  Matt ordered the cookie plate (with raspberry drink):

I ordered the molten cake.

I was able to finish all of mine.

But Matt couldn’t eat all of those cookies.  Don’t worry, they were mostly consumed by the end of the weekend.

It was a great date.  Somehow I didn’t end up with any extra jewelry, but that’s okay.  I’ve got Matt 😀

The rest of the weekend

Of course, who doesn’t eat a bunch of cake the night before their first wedding dress fitting?  Yeah . . . oh well.  Good news?  The dress is kind of big.  Like if I took more than two steps it would have fallen down!  I actually looked at my initial measurements.  I have lost 1.5″  in my bust, 1.5″ in my waist, and 1″ in my hips.  I just hope that they can bring it enough.  See I don’t have hips to hold a dress up, so it has to be SUPER tight in the waist!  We shall see!

Our other project of the weekend?  I’ll give you a hint:

Can you spot an April dog?

I’ll have a post on this later in the week!

Hope you all had a great weekend.  Now I guess I have to go to bed.  This is when I don’t like losing that hour!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2011 8:30 AM

    Sounds like so much fun to recreate the night you got engaged! How romantic!

    Can’t wait to see what your wedding programs look like! 🙂 Is that the surprise?

  2. March 17, 2011 8:51 PM

    are those programs? Ohh suspense suspense! sounds like a fantastttic date night. I saw Mary Poppins on Bway and def. loved it too!

Leave a Reply

