Skip to content

A Good Samaritan

January 18, 2011

Today was an . . . interesting day.  The weather is NASTY!!  It started out snowing 5 inches, then switched to freezing rain, and now just rain.  There’s still snow everywhere, so the streets are a mess, since there is no where for the water to drain.  I ended up taking a 4 hour lunch break after almost getting in a wreck on the way home to walk April at lunch.

After work, I had some coworkers come over to work on a retirement gift for another coworker (I’ll try to feature it later).  So I stopped to pick up a few supplies at CVS, then came home to await their arrival.  Right was Steve was coming in the door, bearing a 12 pack of Corona no less, a police woman was knocking on our door.  Why?  Apparently I dropped my wallet in the CVS parking lot, and a Good Samaritan picked it up and turned it into the police.  I didn’t even know that it was missing!  After working on the project, Matt drove me to the police station.  Guess what?  Every thing was still in it!  All of my credit cards, my license, and even my $3!!  How amazing is that?

What a Good Samaritan. 

It reminds of two instances in Chicago.

  • One Saturday night (after a few drinks at a club) I dropped my phone into another woman’s purse on the floor (it was next to my purse).  She found it Sunday morning, and called Mother.  I picked it up at her office Monday during lunch.
  • Another night, I was coming home on the L, and a group of twenty-somethings got off at the stop before mine.  I noticed that one of them had dropped their phone.  I picked it up before someone else would.  The girl then called the phone, I answered, and she had her phone back within an hour.

Have you ever had such a thing happen or done something for someone?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2011 5:52 AM

    I lost my little wallet thingy on a trail at the Cincinnati Nature Center this Fall. Before we could get back to the visitors’ center, someone had turned it in, everything included. Apparently their dog found it on the trail. Plus, the employees had already called the number on my credit card to report it as lost. I was impressed all around.

  2. January 20, 2011 6:47 PM

    My samaritan was a taxi driver of all people. He’s made me be a ton nicer to them. I left my wallet (with all my safety certifications) in his cab on a Friday night before I needed them Sunday. He found my business card, left a message on my work phone and met me at my apartment to drop it off on Sunday! I gave him a thank you card and $20 🙂

Leave a Reply

