Skip to content

TABATA! YA!

January 7, 2011

HO.LEE.CRAP!  I am still sore from Wednesday’s workout.  My trainer gave me a Tabata workout.  Have you ever heard of it?  It is a technique based on high intensity.  You do an exercise for 20 seconds on and 10 seconds off for a total of 4 minutes.  The goal is to max out that muscle (or muscle group).  It is supposed to be ultra intense to reach 170% of your VO2max (VO2max is your maximum oxygen consumption).  So it is a form of HIIT (high intensity interval training) if you’ve heard of that.  Let me tell you what . . IT HURTS!!

Here was my training plan:

  • Overhead presses with 8lb dumbbells (Tabata method)
  • Push-ups (Tabata method)
  • Row 500 meters
  • Crunches (Tabata method)
  • Squats touching elbows to knees (Tabata method)
  • Row 500 meters
  • Lower leg lift/raises (Tabata method)
  • Row 500 meters

Yeah by round 8 (heck even 4), I was struggling with those presses, and my push-ups looked like garbage.  I was even doing them from my knees and could barely get past a slight bend in my elbow.

For the past two days the follow muscles have hurt

Seriously, my elbows hurt.  And I’ve started having trouble squatting to go to the bathroom!

And the good (or bad) news is that you can apply this technique to any type of isolation exercises.  Next time I might try biceps, triceps, and wide turned out squats.

Have you ever done Tabata?

(By the way, it sounds like Ciabatta bread to me)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 7, 2011 11:59 PM

    Ahhhh! Yes! We did those in boot camp. Tabatas Tuesdays. Hated them!

    • January 9, 2011 12:18 AM

      No wonder! I have a love/hate relationship. I love feeling sore and “muscular”, but hate not being able to walk.

  2. January 11, 2011 10:41 AM

    Isn’t it k ind of great when you’re sore from a workout? It makes me feel like I KNOW I got a great workout. But yes…there’s been MANY days where it hurts to sit down to go to the bathroom!!

    Sounds like an awesome workout. I’m def. going to look into tabata!

Leave a Reply

