Skip to content

Tales from the Gym

December 14, 2010

So, I’m watching “The Biggest Loser Finale”, and they show clips of Tina falling off of the treadmill.  It reminded me of embarrassing stories of my own from the gym.

My senior year at Purdue, I was training for a 5K and totally fell off of the treadmill.

Last year, I was doing a box jump on the bench, and definitely bit the dust.

Okay, I didn’t really jump this high.

In both instances, I think the only thing bruised was my ego.  But you know what?  I got right back on the treadmill.  I started jumping on the bench.  I think that’s the most important thing.  Yes, the gym can be intimidating.  Yes, you can embarrass yourself.  But that doesn’t mean that you shouldn’t take that first step and join the gym.  Show up!  Get up off of the floor and get back to it!

Have you ever fallen?  Embarrassing gym stories?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Angie permalink
    December 14, 2010 11:01 PM

    I’ve bit it off the treadmill twice. Once I thought that I should be able to “ride’ the belt off the back. Don’t know what I was thinking, but I nobody noticed. The second time was the 4 days before my triathlon and I didn’t step far enough away from the treadmill as I was stepping down and I caught my heel and twisted my ankle bad. Apparently everyone saw it and they 3 or 4 people came over and several others kept asking me about it. I still went to cycle class but only made it about 20 minutes before the pain was so bad I had to bail!

  2. December 16, 2010 6:32 PM

    I’m pretty sure you know my falling and tearing a hole in my shin story. if you don’t remember, or if anyone else wants to read, you can here: http://hereiamstillintact.blogspot.com/2010/01/just-went-from-9-to-12.html

    almost a year later, i still have a significant dent in my shin hahaha.

Leave a Reply

