Skip to content

A Christmas-time Wedding in Indiana

December 13, 2010

Just got back from the midwest.  Did you hear about the snow?  Anyway, my cousin got married this past weekend in Richmond, Indiana (my parents’ hometown).  Matt and I flew to Cincinnati Friday evening.   Kathleen picked us up from the airport and we had some dinner at Arnold’s downtown.  Then we headed out to my dad’s, stopping at Graeter’s for ice cream and Starbucks to meet up with Beckey.  YAY!

My dad drove us up to Richmond Saturday morning, where we went to Grandma’s for some cold cut sandwiches.  Finally, it was time to get ready and head to the church.  I wanted to get there early, because guess who was in town . . . TOM!  (that would be my brother, the Marine, who returned from Afghanistan in September, and I had yet to see him).

Doesn’t he look so handsome in his dress blues.  I just found out that since he will no longer be a Marine at my wedding in May (he is finished with his enlistment in March), he is not allowed to wear his dress blues.  BOO!!  He was an usher and acolyte for my cousin.

I then went upstairs to find my cousins.

And visit Colin, who was the ring bearer and will be the ring bearer in our wedding.

This is Colin (the 3 year old) informing his mom that he was very uncomfortable in his tuxedo.  He was also quoting the Grinch: “Why, Santy Clause, why?”

Matt and I sat up in the balcony and video-taped the wedding.  The ceremony went smoothly; it was a typical 15 minute Methodist ceremony.  I loved that they embraced the season and had Christmas hymns as the prelude.  The big surprise of the ceremony came at the end.  According to the program, the recessional was supposed to be “Joy to the World”.  But as the organist began playing, I thought “This doesn’t sound like Joy to the World.”  Next thing I knew I was singing along to Hail Purdue!  BOILER UP!  My cousin (despite the fact that she went to Indiana) loves Purdue, and her husband, Brett, went there.  I was cheering up in the balcony!

The reception was at a blues club in an old warehouse building.  It was pretty neat.  They had a slide show of pictures of the bride and groom.  One picture in particular caught my eye:

It’s hard to tell, but that’s my cousin and I in my freshman dorm room!  HA!

I had fun at the reception hanging with my cousin Jenny’s 6 month old twins. (They were rather popular).

Don’t you love the reindeer butt?

And of course, my brothers and I were all together for the first time in a year, and we had to get a picture:

My dad apparently needs to learn how to NOT have his finger in a picture.

We had a great time, and even made it home to Boston yesterday, despite the snow.

CONGRATS BECKY AND BRETT!

P.S.  Week 1 of the new PointsPlus program with Weight Watchers: I LOST 3.0 lbs!  HOORAY!  Now must not get complacent!

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 13, 2010 8:34 PM

    looks like a beautiful wedding and colin–he’s a handsome boy–even if he is uncomfortable in his tux!

  2. Laura permalink
    December 13, 2010 9:50 PM

    Yay for December weddings! Mine is this weekend! 🙂

    • December 14, 2010 8:36 AM

      OH GOODNESS!! I hope it all goes well! Can’t wait for some pics on FB. By the way, I went to Graeter’s Cherry Grove on Friday. Did you know a cone is now $2.50? Remember when it was $1.50?

  3. Jenny aka Colin's Mom permalink
    December 13, 2010 10:09 PM

    Anne,

    It was great seeing you and Matt and the rest of the Himebaugh clan. Your picture of Colin is hysterical! Did you hear him say “Cindy Lou Who”? It is tooooo funny!

    Merry Christmas!

    Jenny

    • December 14, 2010 8:36 AM

      Colin was being so funny (when he wasn’t complaining about getting dressed).

  4. December 15, 2010 2:31 PM

    What a nice wedding 🙂
    Congrats on the loss!

Leave a Reply

