Skip to content

Girls Weekend in MSP

October 26, 2010

This past weekend, I flew to MSP (Minneapolis-St. Paul) to visit with three of my bridesmaids.  Two of my bridesmaids actually live in MSP, and Kathleen, my maid of honor, also came to visit.

Friday night and Saturday morning, I stayed with Jan, her husband, Erik, and twin two year olds, R and J.  We had a great time Friday night drinking some wine and chatting.  Jan and I have known each other since first grade (surprisingly not the bridesmaid that I’ve known the longest).  My mom always called her “that cute little red-headed girl”.  She moved to the twin cities after 9th grade.  Saturday morning her friend, Keri, and her mom came over for brunch.  Two year old boys are certainly a handful!

Reece just wanted to climb.

Where's Jensen?

We then met Jen, Kathleen, and Jen’s three month old daughter for lunch at a bar showing the Purdue game (we won’t talk about the score).  Kathleen is my maid of honor and college roommate.  Jen lived two doors down freshman year.  We shared a sorority, a major, and many places to sleep.

A new little Boilermaker!

Saturday night we headed out to Chino Latino for a great girls night.  First, two pitchers of Sangria:

Complete with plastic giraffe

And lots and lots of food:

Chicken Enchiladas

Beef Empanadas

Tempura Shrimp

Cuban Pork Roast with plantains

Sushi Sampler

After dinner, I made my way to the bathrooms.  It was a tile doorway marked “banos”.  Now I don’t speak Spanish, but I knew it said bathroom.  However, when I walked in, all I saw were three guys washing their hands.  WHAT?!!  I started to walk out, but was told no, this is the right place.  Apparently the men and women share sinks, but there are two separate toilet areas.  I was convinced that I was going to see a man at a urinal when I turned the corner.  Jan said that she likes to accompany people when they go to the bathrooms for the first time and Chino Latino.  I guess my reaction isn’t so abnormal.

What a great night with great ladies!

Horrible picture of me

Perhaps we should have taken the picture BEFORE we stuffed ourselves.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Lee permalink
    October 26, 2010 5:33 AM

    I love Chino Latino. Glad you had a great weekend.

  2. Jenny permalink
    October 26, 2010 7:40 AM

    Anne,

    I love that you’re wearing cobalt blue and pink . . . I detect a theme! I’m glad you had a great weekend!

  3. October 26, 2010 12:43 PM

    I love great weekends catching up with friends! Glad you had such a nice time!

    • October 28, 2010 12:09 AM

      It’s so hard when you live halfway across the country. But great friends are worth it!

  4. October 27, 2010 9:40 AM

    That food looks delicious.

Leave a Reply

