Skip to content

Greetings from the Beach

October 9, 2010

Matt and I were originally going to visit my aunt and uncle at their beach house over Labor Day, but it fell through.  So we decided to come down for Columbus Day weekend.  Unfortunately, they had to go out of town.  Luckily for us though, we chose an absolutely GORGEOUS weekend!  It is 78 degrees and sunny.  We spent a few hours at the beach this afternoon.

I have to keep reminding myself that it is October.  Kids were out playing in the water!  One nice thing about being here during “off season” is that dogs are allowed on the beach.  We saw them EVERY WHERE!!

Makes me miss our little April.  We decided to leave her at home (well Matt refused to get up and run her in the morning while on “vacation”).  Maybe one day she’ll come down.  I wonder what she’d think of the beach and ocean.

It was an 11 hour drive yesterday (it took us THREE HOURS to get around NYC).  I think it was the worst it’s ever been.  We passed 4 accidents on the other side of the interstate, so lots of rubber necking.  To entertain Matt, I decided to look through my iTunes for a first dance song for us.  We still don’t have one, really.  He has vetoed classics like Frank Sinatra and Nat King Cole.  I really like “So Close” by Jon McLaughlin from “Enchanted”, but I don’t like how it ends.  Any suggestions? We do have like 7 months . .

Have a great weekend!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Jan permalink
    October 10, 2010 2:55 PM

    So something like At Last would be out then, right? Lots of people use that, but you gotta love the classics.

    My cousin and her husband’s first dance was True Companion…I seldom hear it, but I love that song.

  2. October 13, 2010 1:22 PM

    Looks like a fun trip. I love little getaways like that.

    • October 13, 2010 3:43 PM

      It was nice (although Matt wasn’t convinced that the 11 hour drive was worth it at first).

  3. October 13, 2010 3:37 PM

    Picking a first dance song is harder than I thought it would be! I never had “that song” that I always knew I wanted to play at my wedding. We chose Dave Matthews “Steady as we Go” because it’s a little more obscure and we both really like Dave Matthews, but I could easily be convinced to choose a different song between now and May. You have plenty of time though!

    • October 13, 2010 3:42 PM

      I started looking more last night. And who knows, between now and May a great new song may come out. I’ll have to go listen to your choice, although I’m not a huge DMB fan.

Leave a Reply

