Skip to content

Registering

October 2, 2010

Last night I bribed Matt with Chick-Fil-A, to accompany me to Macy’s and begin our registry.

Tasty Chicken

The Chick-Fil-A in the Burlington Mall is the only one in at least 100 miles.  I love their chicken sandwich and diet lemonade!

Then we made our way to Macy’s, and I put a scanning gun in Matt’s hand.  He kept trying to scan (and register for) me, but the contraption gave him an error!  Registering was actually really overwhelming.  It’s so odd picking out things that are expensive, and there was so much to chose from.  I forgot to take a picture, so here’s a recreation of Matt scanning things (the machine looked more like a big smart phone, less like a gun).

Matt registers for Cinnamon Life

We registered for:

DISHES

BEDDING

STATUS SYMBOL

Is it weird if everything that we register for is blue?  It’s both mine and Matt’s favorite color. I’m going to go back and finish the registry with my mom.  I realized when we walked over to the kitchen section, that I had no clue what to get.  It all feels so greedy.

What did you register for?  Anything “different”?  Suggestions?

Be sure to check out my first WedLoft Blog Post on Save the Dates!!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Lee permalink
    October 2, 2010 10:32 AM

    Don’t worry about registering for too many things, or things that are too expensive. You will be amazed to find that you will get most of things that you register for and people are generally thankful when you register for things in a variety of price ranges (including more expensive items) because many people would rather send one big thing than a few small things.

    We registered for new luggage when we got married and have gotten tons of use out of it. But some of my favorite gifts were not from the registry, like a teapot that my Grandma bought in Ireland and a silver platter from one of my friends.

    Try not to stress too much about it; just have fun.

    • October 2, 2010 11:57 AM

      Thanks! It was just so weird. I tried to register for something, and then I saw the price and took it off. We shall see.

  2. Karen permalink
    October 2, 2010 10:53 AM

    I have dibs on the Cinnamon Life gift! Lee offered good advice. You probably already have most of the stuff you NEED. As you accumulate the stuff you WANT, remember to think about how much space it takes up–you’ll notice every time you move!! 🙂 Also–blue is good!

    • October 2, 2010 11:59 AM

      Matt wouldn’t turn down the cereal! I was definitely thinking about NOT registering for stuff just to have it. I hate having “random crap” (okay expensive random crap) in the house.

  3. Laura permalink
    October 2, 2010 11:22 AM

    We’re going to Macy’s tonight to pick out our china pattern. 🙂

  4. Jan permalink
    October 2, 2010 12:23 PM

    Also, with the really big stuff, it’s a good chance for people to go together on gifts. One of my friends and his wife registered for a PS3 for their wedding, and several of his old college buddies got it for him!

  5. October 2, 2010 4:52 PM

    HA! I love the “status symbol.” Best appliance EVER! Plus, yay for the blue, and yay for registering for things that are fun. I’ve seen people register for camping equipment and sporting gear too. Just a thought. Oooh! And register for an emersion blender! Super cool!

    • October 3, 2010 11:32 AM

      Yeah, we’ll be registering for some fun stuff at Tar-Jay. **off to look at emersion blender**

Leave a Reply

