Skip to content

Trying Something New

September 19, 2010

Recently I’ve been lamenting the loss of my flexibility (that’s what happens when you don’t stretch like you used to) and contemplating taking some yoga classes.

So when I received a Groupon email for Prana Power Yoga (which is near my house), I took them up on it.  I got a coupon for $30 (a $75 value) for 5 classes in a time period of 8 weeks.  I finally dug my yoga mat out of the closet and made my way to my first class this afternoon.

First of all, it was hot!  The studio was a balmy 90 degrees, at least.   I was seriously dripping and towards the end I could barely keep my hands in place during down-dog.  I also severely underestimated my in-shapeness (or maybe it was the veggie burger I ate an hour before), but I kept feeling sick and could barely catch my breath.  In a few warrior poses, I had to pause and go into child’s pose.  But the good news:  I still have tons of my flexibility and balance!  I can’t wait to try it again (this time with less food in my stomach) and see how it goes.  The instructor was also great, and didn’t make me feel bad at all for going into child’s pose.    And luckily, while I’ve only take about 2 yoga classes in my  life, I’ve taken Body Flow classes, which are tai chi, yoga and pilates, and knew many of the yoga poses he would call out.  I think that if you’ve never taken yoga, starting out with hot power would not be my recommendation.  Take an easier beginner class.  But it felt so great to move my muscles.  Four classes left!

For dinner this evening, I decided to actually make food at home (SHOCK!) and use the tomatoes our landlady gave us from her garden.  Matt wanted to order pizza.  I compromised and made home made pizza!  Guess which pizza belongs to which of us?

Veggie White Pizza

BBQ Chicken Pizza

Mine is the white pizza made with garlic (and garlic salt! I love garlic), spinach, tomatoes, and fat free mozzarella.  Matt’s is made with BBQ sauce, chicken, mozzarella, and cheddar.  I actually didn’t have any olive oil (who doesn’t have olive oil?), so I brushed the crust with canola oil.  No good olive oil taste, but still pretty darn great!  Matt said that he liked it (I don’t think he would say differently), and now we have lots of leftovers!  YAY!!

Update:  I took the hot power yoga on Saturday afternoon.  Sunday morning, I AM SORE!  My arms, shoulders, and abs (especially obliques) are definitely feeling it!  YAY!!  I love being sore!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2010 6:07 AM

    Whoo hoo! You must’ve gotten an awesome workout. I’ve never tried offical hot yoga, but in my Jivamukti class the instructor turns on the space heater and it totally makes everything more difficult (and sweaty!).

  2. September 20, 2010 11:19 AM

    I have never been to a a yoga class… I am too nervous! I think I’m going to make it a goal to try it out though after hearing such good things about it. not sure if I would ever want to do hot yoga though!
    I love feeling sore after a good workout 🙂

    • September 20, 2010 11:22 AM

      DO IT!! The good thing about yoga is that no one is looking at you. It’s not about competition at all. Let me know if you want to go to one sometime, I don’t know much about the yoga scene in Boston, but I’m always willing to try something new.

Leave a Reply

