Skip to content

Obsessing Over Tableclothes

August 9, 2010

As promised:  CENTERPIECES!

So have you ever watched “Whose Wedding is it Anyway?” on style?  In the opening credits they have funny things quoted from planners, brides, mother’s of the bride, etc.  One of them says something like

“And some brides, especially the wacky ones, will call you like 20 times a day.  They want to discuss things with you like a shade of peach!

Yeah, that’s how I felt after this “mock-up”.  The premise was to discuss one of my mom’s ideas regarding the table coverings, as well as for me to determine something about the table name signs.  I do realize that the wedding is over 9 months away, but if I have to do some DIY, I feel as if I should be getting on with it, you know?

Anyway, my wonderful planner, Julie, at Cincy Event Planning has agreed to help do with centerpieces ourselves, which will save us TONS of money, since we’re going to have at least 30 tables.  So she gave us some ideas of table overlays and centerpieces.

The premise of our table names is to name them after landmarks special to us, and include a picture of one or both of us with the table.

Here’s one centerpiece:


#1) Blue satin overlay, three 3″x3″x3″ vases with pink roses and carnations, scattered votives, no ribbons on the table number stand

,#2) Blue bengaline moire overlay, three 3″x3″x3″ vases with pink roses and carnations, scattered votives, ribbons on the table number stands

#3) Blue pin tuck overlay, three 3″x3″x3″ vases with pink roses and carnations, scattered votives, ribbon on table number stand

#4) Blue square table topper, three 3″x3″x3″ vases with pink roses and carnations, scattered votives, pink ribbon on table number stands


#5) Blue satin overlay, various height of candles, pink rose petals, pink ribbon on table stand holder

#6) Blue satin overlay, various height of candles, no ribbon on table stand holder

#7) Blue satin overlay, candles of various heights, one 3″x3″x3″ vase with pink carnations, pink ribbon on table number stand

Of the overlays, I really love the color of the blue satin overlay.  This is where I feel obsessive and want to stop by the rental company to make sure that this is the correct color.

I love the 3 little vases of flowers with the votives.  For the second centerpiece I’m trying to figure out how to use the candles, but also incorporate some color of the pink.  The petals seem a bit beachy and messy to me.  My friend (and bridesmaid), Jen, recommended maybe ribbon directly on the candles (maybe only one), like so:

I’m also not sure about the ribbon on the table number stand.  Again, seems less clean.

Yeah, 9 months to go!  I guess I could start working on the table names and looking for pictures.

What do you think?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 9, 2010 8:41 PM

    I like #5 best!

  2. Jan permalink
    August 10, 2010 8:28 AM

    I like the ribbon on the candles idea. I’m not a big fan of the ones where the ribbon is hanging down, because it kind of distracts from the flowers (in my opinion). I like #1 the best. 🙂

    • August 10, 2010 8:33 AM

      Yeah, I think the ribbons are out on the table number stand.

      Glad you like #1. Everyone else likes #5, and I’m not sold on it yet. I like clean, modern things, and #5 screams beach.

  3. August 10, 2010 8:36 PM

    Number 5 is my absolute favorite, and I like number 3 next. I love the idea of different heights of candles. I had the blessing of my grandpa building tons of wooden candle holders to go with my centerpieces.

Trackbacks

  1. Updates on CP and SUTN « Thefitbridesmaid's Blog

Leave a Reply

