Skip to content

H 2 Oh No!

July 27, 2010

Yesterday I talked about how I was drinking so much water that I was peeing clear.  In the comments section, Matt and Liz both said that I was probably drinking too much.  WHAT!?!  I thought clear pee was the goal.  So I went to google (don’t worry, I waited until I left work until I googled “clear pee”).  Turns out, there is such thing as too much water.  I was actually thinking that this morning.  Go www.urinecolors.com (yes, it’s a website), and learn about water intoxication.  Your goal should actually be pee the color of pale straw.  I could have been losing important electrolytes.  Although, the good news is that most deaths involving water intoxication are the result of water drinking contests or over-exercising without proper electrolyte replenishment.

How much water do you drink per day?  If you are a heavy exerciser (e.g. marathoner), do you replenish with drinks such as gatorade?

Edit:  My friend Beckey sent me this website with more information on how much you should drink (and what) for exercise.  Here are some tips to stay hydrated while you exercise:

Some tips to stay hydrated while you’re out and about:

1. Don’t drown yourself with water. Sip your drink every 10 or 15 minutes

2. Put a timer on your watch for every 15 minutes so you remember to drink

3. To ensure that your drink stays cold, use an insulated bottle.

4. If you find a sports drink too sweet or sugar heavy then dilute it with more water.

5. Two hours before you head out, drink two cups of liquid, continuously drink during your workout, and then post workout follow up with a recovery drink to replenish the nutrients lost over the course of your workout and to help jumpstart the recovery process.

On the wedding front

So we’re going to do some centerpiece mock-up (or “playing” as my mom calls it), and I’m acquiring supplies.  Don’t worry, I’ll feature them on the blog.  I was so excited to get some packages today!  Here’s what I have so far:

Three different blue table cloths (bengaline moire, satin, and pintuck), colored candles, tealights, pillar candles, and a table number holder.  (I also need to steal a silver frame from around the house and buy some vases, CHEAP).   Do you like my cute new purse in the background?

Anyway, back to more photoshop fun.  I’m working on our Save-the-Dates.  I had way too much fun auto-straightening and cropping pictures last night!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. July 27, 2010 8:26 PM

    I had no idea you could drink too much water. I don’t exercise regularly but I shoot for 60-80 oz/day.

  2. Mirai permalink
    July 27, 2010 8:39 PM

    I’m glad I read your blog Anne!! I didn’t know that you could drink too much water either. I’m going to have to check out the website!!

  3. Katie permalink
    July 28, 2010 12:02 AM

    I was a little surprised the first time I read about water intoxication too 🙂 It is pretty much nearly impossible to do though (like you said – almost always crazy CRAZY contests or things like that), so I don’t think you have anything to worry about. I was actually reminded this week of the other end – that the minute you feel thirsty, you’re already dehydrated. I forget that one sometimes! Really kinda scary almost…

    • July 28, 2010 2:38 PM

      Come to think of it, I remember a friend of mine drinking too much water and getting sick.

      Good point on the already dehydrated if you’re thirsty part!

  4. Matt permalink
    July 28, 2010 3:07 AM

    Being a little dehydrated from time to time is a natural thing. Aiming for water intervals and a specific color of urine is a little hardcore – just keep some water nearby, and drink it from time to time, but usually when you feel like doing it! And drink a little more when it’s hot and when you are exercising. There’s a good article on hydration here at Runner’s World:

    http://footloose.runnersworld.com/2010/07/july-7-damn-its-hot-out-there-so-how-much-should-you-be-drinking.html

  5. July 28, 2010 8:16 AM

    Yes you can definitely have too much water! I usually drink about 3 Liters a day and my pee is usually a very pale yellow by the end of the day! I can’t wait to see the centerpeices!!!

  6. Emily permalink
    July 28, 2010 1:47 PM

    People also need to keep in mind what they drink. There are other things besides water and sports drinks that will help hydrate you – the rules I learned were that it should be clear. This helps you avoid all those things with caffeine (diaretic). Found this out when my sister actually collapsed from heat exhaustion-the EMT’s told my mom to have her drink anything clear just to get something in her because she didn’t like water then (we were 12), so she chose Sprite and they said that was fine and would do that job.

    • July 28, 2010 2:40 PM

      I’ve heard that, too. It’s why I like to get the lemonade at Subway (which the were out of the other day, boo!).

  7. Jan permalink
    August 9, 2010 12:42 PM

    This reminded me of that chick who died from water intoxication a couple years ago…do you remember that? It was in California, some radio show did a “Hold your wee for a Wii” contest. That was when I first learned you can drink too much H2O.

    And I did NOT wait until I left work to google “clear pee” but I’m sure they don’t care. 😛

Leave a Reply

