Skip to content

Dry Hacking Cough

July 26, 2010

Ugh, I don’t know if I’ve complained on here yet, but I’ve had this nasty cough for the past five days.  I’ve woken up at 4am, 6am, 7am, etc. and coughed uncontrollably for 30 minutes!  Not good.  I felt better yesterday (AKA I didn’t cough), and then I breathed in the nice cool air last night.  Bam!  The cough is back.  ARGH!  I seriously drank at least (6) 16 oz. bottles of water at work today (hooray for peeing clear!).  Then we (my running buddy, Christie, and I) went on our Monday run.

Not to brag or anything, but we totally rocked the run!  I’m pretty sure that we did the first mile sub 10 minutes!  (That’s fast for me).  We were just going along, and it was awesome!  Of course right after we finished it (waiting for the stoplight to cross the street), I started hacking.  My throat is just so dry!  We then walk/jogged the second mile.  Finally we jogged most of the third mile.  SUCCESS!!  Now to just substitute more jogging than walking and we’ll be set.  Seriously, I’m pretty proud of ourselves (aside from my nasty cough issues).

I’ve googled this cough thing (you know, in lieu of actually going to the doctor), and I really think it’s just a result of my cold from two weeks ago and breathing in cold air.  My throat is inflammed and causing me to cough.  I’ve already had three more big glasses of water since coming home from running.  Matt is looking up medicines for me, and I did take some advil, to help with the inflammation and pain.  This is so weird.  I feel fine (aside from a sore throat from coughing too much this morning), until I start coughing up a lung.

On another note:

Shape Up the Nation, Round 3

(Round 1) (Round 2)

The results are in.  And it’s my blog, so I’ll brag if I want to:

Weight Lost: -0.5% (every bit counts, right?)

Exercise Minutes: 855 minutes (61 minutes/day).  My exercise minutes have actually gone down each round.  But I can’t complain about 61 minutes per day!

Steps: 170,506 steps (12,179 steps/day)  HOLY COW!!  That’s almost “highly active” lifestyle!  Yay for having a dog!

Only four more weeks (two rounds) left!  I’m planning on stepping up the exercise minutes and maybe the weight will follow?

So no picture today.  When in doubt, include the dog, right?

Look at her snuggling up on Matt!!  Adorable!

P.S.  Anybody else watch My Boys last night?  It’s so funny!  Glad it’s back!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Matt permalink
    July 27, 2010 2:53 AM

    Water isn’t going to help – it sounds like you’re actually drinking a bit too much of it. It sounds like your system was irritated by the cold and now little provocations (like running) are giving you an asthma-like reaction (I get the same thing every time I get a cold).

    Cough syrup might help a little bit, or alternatively try and get some vapor rub (it’s stuff you rub on your chest and it releases vapors that calm your system down a bit – Matt will hate it but it really does help). Alternatives are: run the shower a bit and breath in some warm, humid aid.

    • July 27, 2010 8:00 AM

      Thanks, Matt! I did take a Nyquil (since it has a cough suppressant) and slept without the fan. Feeling better today, but still a bit irritated! Maybe some vaporub on the way home.

  2. July 27, 2010 9:59 AM

    Such a cute picture!!!

  3. Liz permalink
    July 27, 2010 2:02 PM

    I don’t know that I’ve ever commented on your blog before but I found it from Beckey’s. 🙂 Anyways, it does sound like you’re drinking too much water as a previous commenter mentioned. Not that it’s doing anything better or worse for the cough, but you should never pee clear (at least from what I’ve always read). On another note, I always chew gum when I run so that my mouth doesn’t get dried out … just a thought!

    • July 27, 2010 2:11 PM

      You shouldn’t pee clear? I’ll have to do some research. I thought that was a goal . . .

      Good point on the gum. I felt so dried out the minute we started running from breathing through my mouth. ARGH!

  4. July 27, 2010 8:44 PM

    VapoRub is the best stuff ever. I may be slightly addicted, but the smell relaxes me right to sleep, especially if I’m feeling sniffy and cough-y (most of the time). Anyway, I’m not an expert on this kind of cough, but I know how to kick dry sinuses and post-exercise sneezing if you ever need help with that. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. H 2 Oh No! « Thefitbridesmaid's Blog

Leave a Reply

