Skip to content

Shape Up the Nation, Round 1

June 28, 2010

Ahh, yes, Shape Up the Nation Round 1 is now in the books.  How did I do?  Over two weeks (14 days) I:

  • Lost 0.4lbs (yeah, not so great)
  • Exercised 1,070 minutes (76.43 minutes/day)
  • Walked 160,047 steps (11,432 steps/day)

YAY!  How do you like (most of) that?  Yesterday was actually my highest step count day.  I walked April twice (45 minutes and 30 minutes) and walked around the mall for a total of 18,000 steps!!  DANG!  Maybe I was just shaking my booty extra hard . . . :/

What should I do for the next round?  Go for more of course!  Goals for Round 2:

  • Exercise 80 minutes/day
  • Walk 12,000 steps/day
  • Lose . . more than a pound!?!

How do I achieve this?  I will join Matt on Friday morning runs with April.  And volunteer to take her on a weekend day.

And the biggest thing?  EAT BETTER!  I’ve seriously been absotively, posolutely SUCKING at eating well.  Therefore stopped at the grocery (after a gym visit doing this lifting session) and got:

  • Strawberries (they are in season and smell absolutely delicious)
  • Bananas
  • Sweet Potatoes
  • Chicken breasts
  • Salsa

Trying to start the week on a good note.

Want a picture for the day?  Yesterday Matt and I went shopping.  We both needed new running shoes and, unbeknownst to each other, ended up buying the EXACT same pair of shoes (okay slightly different colors), but the same model:

Isn’t that funny!?!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Ashleigh permalink
    June 29, 2010 8:48 AM

    Sounds like you did really well for round 1! 1,070 mins of exercise is amazing!!

    My eating is the hardest part of the losing weight equation for me too… I just seem to overdo it on the not so healthy stuff.

    Cute kicks 🙂

    Can’t wait to see how you do on round 2!

    • June 29, 2010 9:23 AM

      For what it’s worth, I counted my numerous dog walks as exercise minutes. So it’s not like I spent 70 minutes/day in the gym.

      I hope the eating part gets better and we’re great on round 2!

  2. June 29, 2010 2:56 PM

    Cute sneaks! Yeah, I’m with ya on the eating. Being motivated to workout is MUCH easier than eating (consistently) healthy. Unfortunately, I think what you eat plays a bigger part in weight loss than working out. Sounds like you’re doing great though–keep it up!

    • June 30, 2010 1:15 PM

      Let’s hope the food stuff gets better. I know what to do, it’s the doing part that I have issues with.

Trackbacks

  1. No Excuses « Thefitbridesmaid's Blog

Leave a Reply

