Skip to content

Walk a mile (or 5) in my shoes!

June 22, 2010

As I said, we’re doing a competition at work called “Shape Up the Nation”.  For the next 12 weeks, I’ll be wearing a pedometer (provided I don’t misplace it all weekend again), and counting my steps.  For those who haven’t heard, it’s generally suggested that a person should aim for 10,000 steps per day.  However from walking.about.com, here’s a breakdown of different grades of steps:

1) Under 5000 steps/day may be used as a “sedentary lifestyle index”
2) 5,000-7,499 steps/day is typical of daily activity excluding sports/exercise and might be considered “low active.”
3) 7,500-9,999 likely includes some exercise or walking (and/or a job that requires more walking) and might be considered “somewhat active.”
4) 10,000 steps/day indicates the point that should be used to classify individuals as “active”.
5) Individuals who take more than 12,500 steps/day are likely to be classified as “highly active”.

A Harvard study determined that as few as 6,000 steps per day is associated with a lower death rate.  What does this mean to you?  You are encouraged to determine your baseline (how much you walk during a normal day), and increase it by at least 10%!!  In a normal day I walk about 5-6,000 steps.  I have to consciously make an effort to add steps to get up to that 10,000.  Of course, as I’ve said, on days that we walk April for 45+ minutes, I can get up to over 15,000 steps.

How do you add steps?

  • Take the stairs as often as possible
  • Park several blocks from your destination or park at the rear of the parking lot
  • Get off the bus/subway a stop early and walk the rest of the way
  • Get off the elevator below your destination and walk a couple of flights of stairs
  • Park at the opposite end of the mall from where you need to shop
  • Walk to do shopping or other errands
  • Consider adding a walking routine to your daily routine, either at lunch time or after dinner (this could probably help digestion, too!)

How many steps do you do?  What are ways you get up and move more?

And on that note, I totally have to plug my cousin, Laura.  She works for WLFI in Lafayette, Indiana and got to interview Drew Brees today!  My face is green with envy!  I don’t think I would have been able to talk if I had met him!

http://www.wlfi.com/dpp/sports/brees-supports-pals-program

CHECK IT OUT!

And finally, gratuitous picture of our silly puppy sitting Indian style:

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 23, 2010 8:53 AM

    Wow…your pup is growing so fast!!!

    • June 23, 2010 10:35 AM

      Let’s hope she’s full grown! She’s 41 pounds. Her body looks big, but her short little legs prevent her from being tall. Hey, just like me!

  2. Ashleigh permalink
    June 25, 2010 10:30 AM

    I think that living in a city helps a lot with getting in extra steps. I am always walking somewhere. I try my best to take the stairs, walk during my break and sometimes I’ll get off a stop of two early to walk. I also started walking home from the gym instead of taking the T- that’s an extra mile a day!

    I can’t believe April is 41 pounds- holy cow!

Leave a Reply

