Skip to content

Bands vs. DJ’s

May 31, 2010
tags: ,

Hello everyone!  I hope that you had a MAH-velous Memorial Day Weekend.  I sure did.  I went to Demotte, Indiana for a good ol’ fashioned wedding down on the farm.  I have a picture that I need to scan to give that wedding it’s full attention, so here’s a discussion to tide you over:

DJ or Band?

This wedding had a ROCKIN’ band from Chicago.  I don’t know their name (need to ask the bride), but here’s their version of the Black Eyed Peas “I Got a Feeling”

And Journey’s “Don’t Stop Believing”

I can honestly say that this was my first wedding with a band.  And they were so awesome.  I was totally digging the whole scene.  I mean, we stayed there for 8 hours, and it WASN’T boring!  I started contemplating having a live band for our reception.  They kept the party going, did an amazing job with emcee-ing, and even played Lady Gaga!!

So, what are your thoughts on DJ vs. Band?

I obviously understand that there is probably a price difference, and you have to find a great cover band who specializes in covers, but I might be persuaded to looking into it.

Enjoy the videos!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 31, 2010 11:19 PM

    My opinion is that a good live band makes everything more exciting and classy. However, if the band doesn’t connect then the party could be flat. Even an above average DJ will most likely get the party going and people will dance (with the aid of their favorite drink).

    I prefer a live band but you are definitely taking a bigger risk. Just my two pennies:)

  2. June 1, 2010 8:54 AM

    I think if you can afford it go with a live band! 🙂 But like Nathan said above it definitely riskier than a DJ. I guess it depends on what kind of atmosphere you are going for.

    • June 1, 2010 8:59 AM

      Thanks, Kelly. It could obviously be much more expensiver (made up word).

      • June 2, 2010 4:25 PM

        It definitely can be! One of my friends hired an 80’s cover band and they were awesome! It was by far the best wedding I had ever been to!! It was so much fun and memorable!

  3. Jan permalink
    June 1, 2010 9:04 AM

    A good live band is awesome. But a bad live band is the worst thing ever, and can break the entire reception. I’ve been to one wedding with a really bad band, and they were so awful it was laughable in a really sad way. Oh and everyone left the reception by 9 (was supposed to go ’til midnight!)

    I was all about DJs because I 1. was a relatively poor 23 year old at my wedding and 2. Ryan (DJ) was a good friend of mine, so he was a particularly good deal, financially. 🙂
    But if you can afford a good band, do it. It makes it so much fun, and they lend such a fun atmosphere to the party!

  4. Stephanie permalink
    June 1, 2010 1:18 PM

    Bands can be great, but they are usually a lot more expensive. Regardless of band or DJ, you want the music to be pleasing to ALL your guest- too often I’ve gone to weddings where the music is all current hip -hop / rap / party music, and the 20-somethings are dancing while everyone else is sitting bored at their tables.

    Our DJ, Andy Adams, was awesome, and I would definitely recommend him. He came recommended to us from one of my mom’s friends who had a daughter get married the summer before, and we absolutely loved him (we got tons of compliments about him as well). Assuming he is still around, he is located in the Anderson area.

    Good luck with making this all-important decision!

Leave a Reply

