Skip to content

Negative people

May 16, 2010

Make me an optimist!

Typically, I’m a VERY optimistic, cheerful person.  But sometimes, I can get stressed out and in a bad mood.  However, several recent instances have shown me that when faced with a pessimist, my mood magically changes.

When we were traveling home from our cruise, we were delayed out of Tampa, and assumed that we’d missed our connection in Dulles.  Luckily for us, it was also delayed, and we made it!  Now, normally I get pretty worked up if we are going to miss our flight.  However, if it’s on our way home, I can be a lot calmer.  Anyway, we sat down on our flight back from Dulles, and were seated in the VERY LAST ROW.  Our flight ended up getting delayed on the tarmac due to weather.  The lady next to me was in a very bad mood, and rightly so.  She’d been traveling with high schoolers for the last 24 hours on their way back from China.  And, she told me, she was getting let go from her job.  Of course here negativity was really getting to me, and I found myself trying to cheer her up and say things like “Well, it’s better that we’re on the ground and not in the middle of the thunderstorm.”

Negative people truly bother me.  While they are complaining, I don’t know how to respond.  I try to cheer them up, or at least maintain my own cheerfulness.

How do you deal with negativity?  Are you a pessimist or an optimist?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 17, 2010 2:05 PM

    I actually stopped being friends with someone because she was so negative all the time. Normally, I try to find humor in the situation. Maybe you made that lady’s day by just listening to her…

    • May 17, 2010 11:03 PM

      We can only hope. I was just so annoyed with some people recently and their negative attitudes.

Leave a Reply

