Skip to content

Taste of Cincinnati

May 10, 2010

Isn’t it going away that makes you miss your hometown?  We had a great weekend in Cincinnati.  Saturday we went to lunch with a photographer then to the Museum Center for a venue meeting.  If you ever go to Cincinnati, one of my recommendations is heading the to  Museum Center.  It’s in the old train station at Union Terminal and is a beautiful, old Art Deco building.

If we had our reception there, it would be in the Grand Rotunda (this is where we had prom senior year). There are huge mosaics there.

The catering manager was great and let us go into the museum itself.  I haven’t been in at least ten years, and had fond memories of the cave in the Natural History Museum.  It’s obviously fake, but I swear it was better than I remembered.

There are multi-story water drips and stalagtites (or stalagmites, I forget).

After exploring the museum, we headed to see my brother, future sister-in-law, and dad.  Then on to dinner with my mom at the Montgomery Inn Boathouse.  This is a restaurant famous for their BBQ ribs.  The sauce is nice and sweet, and has ruined me for all other BBQ sauces.  We were supposed to wait for 30-45 minutes for our 8:00pm reservation, so we got some appetizers to share.  Of course the minute you do that your table’s ready, right?  Anyway, we enjoyed some onion strings

And fried mozzarella for those of us who DON’T like onions (*cough* Matt *cough*)

I, of course, got the ribs (and a not-so-great sweet potato)

Matt got the Big Ted’s plate:  ribs, brisket, and pulled pork with Saratoga chips:

Obviously the restaurant might not be the greatest for a vegetarian.  But delicious nonetheless.

As far as the wedding goes, it was a very productive weekend.  We saw four venues, met with two photographers, and picked out bridesmaid dresses.  I really can’t decide between the two photographers.  I change my mind every minute or two.    How did you choose a wedding photographer?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Beckey permalink
    May 10, 2010 9:05 PM

    StalacTITES come from the TOP 🙂

    That’s how I always remembered.

  2. May 11, 2010 9:21 AM

    For me, the photgrapher was probably the most important thing I paid for at my wedding. I spared NO expense and got a top notch photgrapher. The tipping point for me was that My photographer agreed to give me the CD’s of all the digital pictures. That was HUGE for me! I obviously had him make my album and I ordered a lot of professional pictures from him. But I wanted to CD’s as well and he agreed (haha…for a fee) to give them to me!

  3. Katherine: What About Summer? permalink
    May 11, 2010 5:35 PM

    wow that food is epic!

Leave a Reply

