Skip to content

Taco Virgin!

April 12, 2010

Yup, you read that right.  Tonight was the first time that I’ve ever had a taco.  I never liked Mexican food when I was little (yucky cheese!), and only recently have branched out.

My wonderful friend came over to make dinner for Matt and me, celebrating our LAST WEEK OF STUDYING!!  She made taco seasoned ground turkey (FYI: she forgot the taco seasoning, so I googled it and used my plethora of spices to make my own taco seasoning.  It involved cumin, cayenne, garlic powder, chili powder, and cornstarch).  In addition we had whole grain taco shells from Trader Joe’s, salsa, kidney beans, tomatoes, orange pepper, cheese, spinach, and rice.  Here’s my plate:

TASTY! Popped that cherry!

Are there any foods that you just have NEVER eaten and not sure why?

On the car front:

My car was chugging the other day and the check engine light came on.  I honestly thought it would die at the intersection and started thinking about how I’d have to spend all weekend shopping.  Luckily, the mechanic checked it and informed me that it only needed a tune up.  It’s issues were exacerbated by the rain (same thing that happened a month ago).  I had work done today (and got to get in two 15 minute walks between the mechanic and the office), and the guy said that my car was in great shape and should be for a few more years!  WOO HOO! (knock on wood)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 12, 2010 10:48 PM

    Haha, it’s hard to believe you’ve never had a taco!

    I will try anything, so I can’t think of a single thing I’ve wanted to try that I haven’t. I guess I’d like to try caviar…but I haven’t really had the opportunity to, so that doesn’t count.

    • April 13, 2010 10:22 PM

      I’ve never had caviar either . . but like you, I’m not sure how often they are at tailgating parties.

  2. April 13, 2010 9:45 AM

    You have never had a taco?!?! That crack me up…I guess living in Texas and have full access to Tex-Mex that is just hard to imagine! But yay, I am glad you liked them!!

Leave a Reply

