Skip to content

No pressure or anything

April 6, 2010

Well along with my recent life being crazy with work and deadlines (including getting some calcs out today), as well as preparing for a HUGE professional life altering test in ten days . . . one of my reception venues called today.  Someone was interested in the room that we had a hold on.  We have 48 hours to decide (noon on Thursday) what to do.

The venue is the Cincinnati Bengals stadium (Paul Brown Stadium), and it’s one of my favorite choices.  It faces the city with floor to ceiling windows, and is super nice.

Source

Luckily, my maid of honor lives in town, and wonderful person that she is, she will be heading down there tomorrow to look at it for me.

Even though we’re not huge Bengals fans . . . okay . . . not Bengals fans at all, we both love football.  And it’s super nice and surprisingly affordable.  It was seriously my #1 choice.

If we want it, we have to put down $1,000 deposit.  AHHH!!!

For those of you who have planned weddings or made mental notes when attending weddings, what concerns would you have looking at a reception venue?

We are also trying to weigh our options and compare other venues that we had planned on looking at during our visit to Cincinnati in a month:

Union Terminal (Huge old train station, converted into a museum, art deco style)

Cintas Center (Xavier University’s basketball arena, new and modern looking, affordable)

Kingsgate Marriott (on UC’s campus, modern looking, would have hotel rooms on premises)

Hilton Netherland (gorgeous art deco building in downtown, rather expensive)

Seriously, no pressure  . . .

P.S.  If you’re so inclined, you can go to their website and look at more photos and take a virtual tour.  Or look at our other choices.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2010 7:55 AM

    WOW…gorgeous! Depending on the type of reception you want I would say that the most important thing is SPACE!! No one like to be cramped…so just make sure whatever venue you pick is big enough to accomdate everyone comfortably.

    • April 7, 2010 9:14 AM

      No need to worry about space. I think this place can seat up to 800 people! (We’re only having 225-250)

  2. Marnie permalink
    April 7, 2010 7:59 AM

    These were my goals for planning my wedding 5 years ago:
    1. Be happy, we were starting OUR life together after all
    2. We wanted to have a fun party with our friends and family
    3. I wanted to look good (call me vain, I’ll allow it!)
    4. Don’t go broke

    That said, we genuinely didn’t care about the details. We came to realize that people either remember really bad details or insanely amazing ones. We didn’t have the cash for the amazing ones so we focused on fun instead. Funny enough, we didn’t see our reception site until after we put the deposit down either. I sent my mom to check it out and she gave it a thumbs up.

    • April 7, 2010 4:43 PM

      Thanks, Marnie. Those are great goals. I have a few things to make it “amazing”, but they’re secret. I’m anxious to talk to Kathleen tonight.

  3. Emily permalink
    April 7, 2010 8:00 AM

    So you’ve heard some of my list, but I thought of more.
    Bathrooms – where and how many?
    Spot for the dance floor and band/dj that makes sense?
    What do they expect of you in terms of food? Bring your own cake or get one from them? Bring your own alcohol or buy from them? What if you decide you want something special for food, how flexible are they?
    Access for older relatives – up/down stairs or elevators?
    Linens in colors you like? Dish etc you like?
    How well do they work with outside vendors – flowers, cake, dj, wedding consultant, photographer, etc?

  4. April 7, 2010 8:42 AM

    The practical item I paid most attention to was space. I didn’t want anyone cramped, or off at a loser table in the corner (this actually happened to me at a reception one time, super awkward…the bride had no idea that the venue would stick guests back there.)

    Besides that, my main concern, (you know, being me and all), was that it be architecturally sweet/significant somehow, since that would totally fit me and Erik. 🙂

    The stadium looks awesome, and I like Union Terminal too, but you’ve got a great list. It’s going to be great no matter what!

    • April 7, 2010 9:17 AM

      Even though we are structural engineers, the architecture is important to us as well. I’d rather use a place that is visually interesting, than a blank canvas of a hotel ballroom.

      I have Kathleen checking on the layout of the place to make sure that no one will be cut off. (a major concern after some weddings that I’ve been to)

  5. April 8, 2010 9:10 AM

    Paul Brown is really nice. I’ve been there for work events in the past.

    Have you started looking for a photographer yet? We used Steph Carson and she was AWESOME! We were her first destination wedding and we had a blast. I can send you pics if you want to see them.

    • April 8, 2010 10:17 AM

      I like it. I’ve contacted Steph Carson. That’s the next “to-do”. Where was your wedding?

  6. April 8, 2010 4:23 PM

    I have to agree with Kelly, I’ve been at so many weddings where space is a huge issue. It is really frusterating.

    Another thing-I detest when the food is set up at round tables. It makes the line really difficult. People are just supposed to cut in in front of the food they want, but the old people never get it. They create this huge line and it makes the experience really annoying.

    • April 8, 2010 4:37 PM

      Luckily all places we’re looking at places that have TONS of space.

      Thanks for the “complaints” though. I’ve definitely been looking at places critically, thinking of things that I haven’t liked at other weddings.

Trackbacks

  1. Three Days Weeks Gone Amok « Thefitbridesmaid's Blog

Leave a Reply

