Skip to content

It Does a Body Good

March 22, 2010

Quick Anecdote:  The other day I mentioned to a friend that I had made a sandwich for lunch “because Matt had some bread.”  She quickly responded, “So you’re getting married, but you don’t share bread?”

This got me thinking about sharing food with Matt (we eat very differently).  And one thing I thought of was milk.

I am NOT a big milk drinker, or milk “eater” for that matter. I do not like yogurt.  Only recently have I branched out into different kinds of cheese.  And I stopped drinking milk at dinner when my mom gave me the option to only have water.  However, I now use milk in oatmeal and pudding (maybe a glass of chocolate milk from time to time).  I have been using skim milk.  Matt drinks 2% (and would probably prefer whole milk).   I decided to do a bit of research regarding the different kinds of milk.

First of all, for those who aren’t aware.  All milk is “skimmed” of fat, and then percentages of it are added back in.  No nutrients are lost in this process (not like refining flour).

When I was a baby/child, we drank whole milk.  The doctor told my mom that the extra fat helped with calcium absorption which young, growing bodies need.  In my 30 minute research of the internet, I have now learned, that currently doctors recommend whole milk for children in order to help them reach their daily calorie intake (since they burn so many calories “growing”).

Actually, what aids in calcium absorption is Vitamin D (which is why milk is fortified with it).  Why fat is important is that the calcium needs transportation through your body.  It hops a ride with amino acids (protein) or lipids (fats) and is carried to the small intestine.  And vitamin D and fats don’t need to be in the same food as the calcium, just eaten at the same time.  Other major sources of calcium include broccoli and kale.

Now back to 2% vs. 1% vs. skim . . . well, by “skimming” the fat out of milk, there is more room for calcium, and even sodium.  So there is more of these nutrients per 8 oz serving in skim milk.  (Source).  However, with less fat for transporting, you might not be absorbing all of the calcium.   (Source)

BY THE NUMBERS

Calories:

Skim milk, 80

2%, 120

Fat:

Skim milk, 0g

2%,  5g

Protein:

Skim milk, 8g

2%, 8g

Calcium:

Skim milk, 30% of DV

2%,  29% of DV

In most of the reading I found, many people are pushing skim milk to lower their caloric intake and reduce the fat in their diet.   If you already have a low fat diet, you are fine drinking 2%.

What kind of milk do you drink?  Have you made a conscious choice?
15 Comments leave one →
  1. Beckey permalink
    March 23, 2010 5:56 AM

    I actually started avoiding it. I haven’t had a glass of milk in years. 1) I’m allergic to it. 2) Pretty sure I’ve developed an intolerance, which is normal for adults. 3) Skinny Bitch made some good points about it nutritionally and about the milk industry. The only thing I’m having trouble with is cheese; I LOVE IT! =)

    • March 23, 2010 7:56 AM

      Yeah, many people have some form of milk intolerance. Also, if you eat too much calcium, you won’t have calcium toxicity (your body is too smart), but you’ll have some constipation to get it out of your system. Other foods have calcium though, so your bones won’t suffer.

      I tried to read “Skinny Bitch” a few years ago, but totally did not agree with some of her points (at the time) and put it down.

  2. March 23, 2010 8:55 AM

    Milk (dairy) makes my tummy HURT so the hubs and I use almond milk or most recently we found hazelnut milk…YUM!

  3. March 23, 2010 4:36 PM

    I wanted to comment on how you and your boyfriend have different food. I totally understand where you’re coming from! My diet is WAY different from my boyfriend’s diet and when I moved in with him last year, it was struggle. I gained 15 pounds because I started eating like him. Things I avoided (like pizza, alcohol, etc) I started indulging in again and my waist line suffered. We’ve since made compromises with each other. When he craves pizza for dinner, we get the Papa Murphy’s take-n-bake Delite pizza because it’s low in calories.
    🙂

  4. Karen permalink
    March 24, 2010 12:44 PM

    Thanks for all the info, Anne. I know that I’m finding it easier to eat right now that I don’t have to consider the tastes of a mate. And Jenny is helping me find a healthier weight–portion sizes are really important. I’ve never been a big milk drinking fan, but love cheese and yogurt. I am “at that age” where lack of calcium could show itself. All you young uns–begin now, to make sure you are keeping your bones healthy!

  5. March 24, 2010 5:46 PM

    I’m allergic to cow and goat’s milk, so I use Silk. Vanilla for regular drinking and original or unsweetened for cooking. I also take calcium pills. My boyfriend loves milk, but its easy for us because I can’t drink it and he can get whatever kind he wants. We buy some food separate just because of my dietary restrictions to avoid allergens. For example, I have to use a lot of vegan products, which he hates. Its not a big deal to buy some foods separately. Why should you have to sacrifice your diet? We work well because we don’t force each other to change.

    • March 24, 2010 10:08 PM

      We do buy a lot of different food. So far I’ve only used his 2% if I’m out of my milk.

      Fiance loves milk, too!

  6. March 24, 2010 9:08 PM

    I’ve never been a huge fan of cow’s milk, so I drink soy. The great thing about soy is that it lasts so much longer in the fridge than cow’s milk!

    One bad thing about cow’s milk: it contains phosporus which leaches calcium from the bones. There’s a lot of debate about whether or not cow’s milk is a great source of calcium.

    • March 24, 2010 10:09 PM

      That’s very interesting. I knew that the leeching of calcium is a bad thing from sodas, but I was unaware of it in milk.

  7. March 28, 2010 12:46 PM

    I may come from a skewed view, but I go with milk is for babies. Or *maybe* hard gainers trying desperately to bulk, but that’s about it…. IMHO. 🙂

    • March 28, 2010 12:52 PM

      Very surprised at everyone’s aversion to milk. Matt drinks it ALL.THE.TIME. I was never a big milk DRINKER, but it’s around for cereal etc.

      Although I’m at work right now, and was thinking of walking to DD for some more chocolate milk as a snack. Better than anything in the vending machine, right?

Trackbacks

  1. RUNNING OUTSIDE « Thefitbridesmaid's Blog

Leave a Reply

