Skip to content

First DIY Project!!

March 17, 2010

First of all, Happy St. Patrick’s Day!  Did you know that Saint Patrick is the Patron Saint of Engineers!!  WOOHOO!

I celebrated by studying for the PE.  Last year, we went to South Boston (Southie) for the St. Patty’s Day Parade.  It was a fun atmosphere.

We were wearing green, can you tell?

Anyway, onto my DIY project.  I took two hours away from studying last Friday to make some cards to ask my bridesmaids to be my bridesmaids!!  They say that you shouldn’t ask your girls too early, but seriously, I’ve known them all for AT LEAST ten years, so I figured I was safe.

I made my way to the nearest scrapbooking supply store (aka Target) and could only find stuff for brides (not bridesmaids), so I got creative.  Here’s the outside of the card:

And the inside:

The poem was:  Something old, something new, something borrowed, something blue, a six pence in my shoe, and a wonderful friend just like you.  I personalized them a bit by using colors that the girls liked.  And then the “white feather wedding dresses” were made less “wedding dress”y by putting sparkly blue paper and coloring things.  I thought they were cute.

I can post this now, since all the girls have received their cards, actually except for one (she knows what it says and doesn’t read this anyway).  I put them in the mail on Friday at 5pm.  And she still hasn’t gotten it.  We’re both afraid that it has ended up like a wedding invitation I received a few years ago:

Yeah, it was ripped in half.

Anyway, 6 bridesmaids!  WOOHOO!!   We’re on our way to a wedding!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2010 10:31 PM

    Those are adorable! And they look really nicely done. When I try crafts, it just looks terrible.

    I’d never heard that you shouldn’t ask bridesmaids too soon. Is that because they might not be your friend by wedding time?

  2. March 18, 2010 8:40 AM

    That is SO cute…you are going to have an awesome wedding with such a creatve bride running the show!

    • March 18, 2010 8:41 AM

      Thanks! I just love arts and crafts (and not doing other work!)

  3. June 14, 2010 11:39 AM

    Very cute cards. Thanks for participating in my link-up!

    • June 14, 2010 12:50 PM

      Thanks! I’m enjoying your blog a lot. Have I mentioned that I love weddings (and saving money)?

  4. June 21, 2010 7:49 AM

    I just wanted to let you know that I featured your project on Make It Yourself Monday this week. Thanks for linking up!

    http://brideonbudget.blogspot.com/2010/06/make-it-yourself-monday_21.html

Trackbacks

  1. Flash FORWARD Friday « Thefitbridesmaid's Blog

Leave a Reply

