Skip to content

Paddling our way to dinner

March 14, 2010

Last night we braved the monsoon to try a new restaurant (to us) in Watertown:  Porcini’s.

From the name, you probably guessed that it’s an Italian restaurant.  It’s a quaint little place with EXCELLENT service, and pretty good food.  I was looking for a place for supper, and while the prices were a bit high, the Gnocchi on the menu sounded just right for me:

Gnocchi with peas, butternut squash, and fresh Parmesan cheese!  Mmmmmm . . . so good!  I had half at dinner, and broke out the second half for an evening snack . . . 🙂

Matt ordered Chicken Parm, but didn’t eat all of the accompanying fettuccine.  We boxed it up, and I had it for dinner tonight, along with some falafel balls!

I’ve never had falafel before, but this was okay.  Definitely not the spaghetti and meatballs that they look like, but still pretty tasty.

Buying a car?

So my “check engine” light came on this morning, along with a bit of a shudder while the engine was trying to shift.   My car is a 1999 Honda Accord with 150,900 miles on it.  I took my last Honda to 205,000 miles, and want this one to go as far.  I’m hoping that fixing it won’t be too expensive.  I was thinking about how I could afford buying a new car, but Matt and I just spent some time doing research, and I realized it wouldn’t be too bad.  I thought I would have to put like $10,000 on it, which would make a serious dent in my savings (currently earmarked for the wedding!), but I could put only $5,000 down, and the payments might only be $500 per month or something . . . hmmm . . . thinking about it more seriously.  I did just buy new tires in September, though!  Come on Honder, you can do it!

Have you ever bought a car?  Advice?  What’s the most you’ve “driven a car into the ground”?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2010 9:18 PM

    I am devoid of new car advice. I’ve had the same car for 10 years. Somehow I’ve only managed to put 100,000 miles on it so far.

    I had falfel for the first time a few weeks ago. Pretty good! Haha, it does look like a meatball.

    • March 14, 2010 9:56 PM

      I have never bought a car myself . . . I’ve just driven them all into the ground.

      I think remembering that you had falafel the other day inspired me to buy it.

  2. March 15, 2010 11:15 AM

    Come on Honda…you CAN DO IT!!

  3. Jan permalink
    March 15, 2010 8:32 PM

    I’ve bought a “new” car twice. Never buy a brand new one, it’s almost always a total waste. If you get one that’s a certified pre-owned and 1-2 years old it’ll save a ton of money. We got our Rav4 in ’08 and it was a year old, and that alone saved us about 7k. Traded in my little Kia (worth maybe 3500?!) and payments are less than $350/month. I’m sure you could find a decent deal somewhere!

    • March 15, 2010 10:23 PM

      That’s what I was thinking. Matt bought a year old super fancy Accord last year with only 20K miles on it.

      Good news though, the check engine light went off!! I’ll put this off more, I hope!

  4. March 18, 2010 5:46 PM

    I got mine! It was used 2007 with 20k miles on it and pretty affordable. I’ve always heard good things about VW’s too. It was really scary. I def suggest bringing Matt and maybe going in and practicing once. I was kinda proud that I did it myself, but it was super scary too.

Leave a Reply

