Skip to content

Do what you love!

February 27, 2010

Yesterday, I went to the gym and did the following weight lifting routine from one of my personal training sessions:

  • One legged squats (back leg on bench), 12 lbs each arm, 12X
  • Decline push-up (legs on stability ball), 15X
  • Twisting situps on incline w/10 lb medicine ball, 15X
  • 21’s with 10lbs in arms, 12X
  • Overhead presses, 12 lbs, 12X
  • Fly (lying on back on bench) with legs up in air, 12lbs, 12X
  • Knee-ups on bench, front and side, each leg 12X
  • Leg lifts on back, 20X
  • Hold legs up (just off ground), 1 min.
  • Repeat 2X

The whole routine took me 45 minutes, burned 400 calories, max HR 179, avg HR 149.  I woke up this morning to sore arms, chest, and abs (YAY!)  As I was doing these yesterday, I was thinking about how much I really like weight lifting.  Many bloggers are very big into running, especially super long distances.  If you’ve read my exercise page, you will know I AM NOT A RUNNER! Never have been, (probably) never will be.  I do run from time to time.  The longest distance being a 5K.  However, I’m just not that into it.

I believe that I enjoy weight lifting, because I’m good at it!  Even when we were little kids, my mom commented on how “solid” we were.  Making muscles has never been my problem.  Therefore, I enjoy it!  Especially with all of the new muscles I’m making.  I love the feeling of being sore and getting stronger.  As I said, I’m not GRRREAT at cardio.   I will work on it, and it has greatly improved over the course of the past 9 months, since starting to work with a trainer.  My heart rate goes up, but I’m not gasping for air.

If you’re looking to get into weight lifting, I highly recommend “The New Rules of Weight Lifting for Women”.

I also recommend, finding an exercise that you thoroughly enjoy!  Aside from weight lifting, I enjoy dancing (I have danced since I was 5).  I take tap class once a week, and manage to work up a good sweat.  Plus then I get to perform (one of my other passions) at the recital.  If you enjoy your exercise, it won’t seem like such a chore to go to the gym, track, dance studio, etc.

What is your favorite form of exercise?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Beckey permalink
    February 27, 2010 9:50 PM

    Step class!!!! I’ll miss it too, since my membership is over Wednesday and I’m not renewing. 😦

  2. February 27, 2010 10:49 PM

    Man, I haven’t taken step in forever. My roommate in college, Jess, used to teach it and it was so much fun!

  3. March 1, 2010 7:50 PM

    That is awesome!!! I love that you have embraced what you love. I firmly believe that the reason exercise is so hard for some people is because they are forcing themselves to do something they don’t enjoy.If you don’t like running…then don’t. If you don’t like swimming…then don’t! I strongly adovocate finding the type and style of exercise that you like because then you are more likely to do it on a regular basis!

    That weight workout looks awesome too…you are hard core! 🙂

    • March 1, 2010 9:56 PM

      Well said! Thanks for the compliment. I should pass it on to my trainer. Although many of these moves can be found in the NRoWLFW

  4. March 2, 2010 9:05 PM

    You’re lucky you can build muscles easily. We are the opposite! I love cardio.

    • March 3, 2010 9:55 AM

      You keep running ’til your heart’s content! Hey, you do a bit of strength training right? I remember those great videos you made a while back!

  5. March 7, 2010 7:53 PM

    It is always easier to exercise when you are enjoying what you are doing. Shocker right?! That we would actually allow ourselves pleasure instead of spending hours on something that we don’t like to do in the first place. We usually end up with resentment later on. I think every person needs to search for their exercise of choice and then it should never be a problem 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. 100th Post: What have I accomplished? « Thefitbridesmaid's Blog

Leave a Reply

