Skip to content

acCOUNTability

February 24, 2010

I originally started this blog to provide some accountability for me on my quest for a healthy lifestyle (a healthier weight).  So when I DON’T post, it’s because I haven’t been following the lifestyle (and probably have nothing insightful to say).

A few weeks ago I discussed the pros and cons of counting calories.  I had decided to not count calories, and practice “intuitive eating”.  However, I have since changed my mind.  First of all, a friend of mine at work has started to watch her calories (and reading this blog, God help her!), and I figured I could go back to counting to show support.  Secondly, since starting to eat vegetarian for Lent, I am curious as to how my nutrients and minerals (and protein) intake is going.  Thirdly, in case you’ve missed it, I’m going to be wearing a white dress sometime next year;  I’d like to look good in it!

Therefore, I have signed up with FitDay to track my food and exercise.  I’d like to use at information and to “check in”, rather than be restrictive.  That’s a slippery slope for me.  I’ll let you know how it goes.

One picture for the day:

When I went searching for some lunch at the grocery store, this cashew carrot ginger soup said “EAT ME!”  It was okay.  I liked the after taste (which had a bit of spice to it), better than when it was going down the gullet . . . is that weird?

Veggies/fruits for the day:  banana, carrot soup, veggie wrap (carrots, sprouts, tomatoes), nothing else . . I don’t think I’ve eaten enough today.  Only 1600 calories, plus I burned 400 calories at the gym this morning.  Ooops, we just don’t have any food in the house.  I mean, I could go get some more peanut butter or something, but I’ve already had two tablespoons.

Oh well.  Called the church today about the wedding.  This is the church that I’ve gone to since I was born.  The office staff was so excited to hear that one of the church families was having a wedding.  The lady I talked to has a son my age, and a daughter who currently goes to Purdue (my undergrad), so it was great to catch up!

I need to focus on studying and working though and not day dreaming about the wedding.  I am of course one of those girls who has been planning this since I was like two!  Although, luckily for my bridesmaids, I’ve decided against the peach/silver bridesmaid dresses I dreamed up when I was 7. 🙂

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2010 10:45 AM

    Low Fat Kat has started a group on ichange.com. Swing by her blog and check it out! I signed up because I was curious how my nutrients were stacking up because I haven’t had meat in weeks. I’ve been tracking my food on there, and apparantly I’ve been getting about 70 grams of protein a day. Not too bad, I don’t think?

  2. February 25, 2010 11:23 AM

    slow and steady wins the race 🙂 you’ve got loads of time and are definitely on good path already (even with a bit of meandering). my sister’s advice “don’t buy a ridiculously slinky dress. you’ll be afraid to eat anything but cucumbers and celery for months” LOL

    • February 25, 2010 1:02 PM

      I know I have time, I just want to look good for so many pre-wedding things (like engagement pictures).

      No fear about a slinky dress. I know my body, and that WON’T work with it!

      • February 26, 2010 11:11 AM

        ah yes, i forget pre-wedding stuff. well, you seriously looked GREAT in the wedding pics from january so i wouldn’t worry too much 🙂 plus, i’m pretty sure the glow will overwhelm whatever things you find less than perfect. i’m pretty sure i can feel the love from here ❤

  3. February 25, 2010 12:45 PM

    I LOVE all things wedding so I am so excited to hear all about your planning process over the next several months! YAY!

    • February 25, 2010 1:01 PM

      Then you’re speaking my language! Don’t worry, I’m having trouble NOT talking about weddings!

Leave a Reply

