Skip to content

Glad it was a balmy 44 degrees today . . .

February 19, 2010

Look, we’re adults!

Our living room is shaping up nicely.  Big comfy couch for Matt, and a shiny new TV.  The puffy couch needs to lose some puffiness, and I need to figure out something to put on the wall behind it.  But now we can have people over without everyone sitting on the floor!

Anyway, the reason for my title is this:  We woke up Monday morning very chilly, to discover that our heat wasn’t working and the thermostat read 64 degrees.  Luckily, our landlady lives upstairs and it was fixed that afternoon.  Last night, Matt commented that he was cold, and I checked.  Again, our heat wasn’t on, and now it was 62 degrees!  We decided to suck it up (it was 10:30pm), and tell landlady in the morning.  So we bundled up!  I wore flannel pants, a silk long underwear longsleeve shirt, and wool socks to bed.  There were three extra blankets on the bed.  Also I prewarmed the bed with two heating pads (I knew enough to not leave them on all night).  I was actually fine all night, but a bit brisk in the morning.  Matt was freezing apparently.  We both said that at least it’s rather warm outside right now.  If the temperatures were in the teens, the apartment could be much colder than 61-62 degrees.  Anyway, it’s fixed now.  YAY!  Boring story . . . I know.

My morning oatmeal had a special guest this morning: CHOCOLATE PUDDING!  I had a few bites of pudding leftover from last night, so I added it to my oats in a (peanut butter) jar. Unfortunately, my camera battery died AS I was taking the picture, so no proof of the deliciousness . . . but I’d recommend it!  Think about it: protein, fats, fiber, calcium, and peanut butter/chocolate.  What’s not to love!?!

Second day as a vegetarian was a bit of a test.  We had a lunch talk and I still am out of food at home, so I chanced it on what the food provided was.  Tons of veggies and fruit!  A marinated veggie wrap, salad, and fruit!  I love fruit and am so happy when they have it at lunch talks.

From my training session yesterday, I have a sports bra recommendation.  So I wear a 38C (yes, I just put my bra size on the internet, but hey, if you see me in public, you’d be able to see it!)  I had asked Caitlin for a sports bra recommendation for those of us with boobs, and she recommended the moving comfort Fiona. Mine came in the mail a week or so ago, and I finally wore it to the gym yesterday.

WOW!! It was so supportive but not squishy!  And it’s pink!  I’d recommend it to anyone else.

If you have boobs, do you have difficulty with running/jumping?  What is your solution?

Tomorrow night is “The Lion King”!! SO EXCITED!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Beckey permalink
    February 19, 2010 8:26 AM

    I have TWO recommendations for you! Yay!

    First, for whatever you’re going to put over your couch, you should totally check out Etsy.com. It’s like an organized craft fair…with talent. You can even sort art by color from a sweet swatch thingy.

    Second, as you know, I am quite chesty. I’ve struggled for years with how to deal with running and jumping. OUCH! I used to wear two cheapy sports bras back in high school and college for track. Then I found out about Enell bras. They’re made for bigguns. They aren’t particularly attractive (okay, not at all) but they work WONDERS. Mine don’t move, and that’s saying something. They’re also a little pricey, but they last forever. Here’s the website: http://www.enell.com/index.php

    • February 19, 2010 10:14 AM

      “Performance apparel for the well-endowed woman” definitely looks like a “lock-and-load”.
      So I decided to look for a retailer of the bra, and there are two in Mass. One is a lingerie store, and the other is a store for horses (equestrian).

      Anyway, thanks for the etsy rec. I’ve always known about it, but haven’t searched the site too extensively.

      • Beckey permalink
        February 26, 2010 6:55 AM

        STORE FOR HORSES! AHAHAHAHAHAHA!

  2. February 19, 2010 10:07 AM

    That was so funny…if you have boobs…haha! Sorry honey…I have the chest of a 12 year old boy (think A cup here…haha) so I have no advice! 🙂

    • February 19, 2010 10:16 AM

      So jealous . . . they look nice some times and other times they just get in the way. I was always so jealous of the flat chests of other ballerinas in dance class.

  3. Jan permalink
    February 19, 2010 10:14 AM

    Yeah definitely look on Etsy for the artwork. It’s the greatest thing ever.

    No help here on the bra issue, since I’m a 30B. 😉

  4. Jen permalink
    February 19, 2010 10:46 AM

    I have that bra too…well – its bigger than yours – but YES very supportive!

  5. February 21, 2010 11:40 AM

    Wow, I might need that bra! Mind telling me how much it was? I love this bra: http://www.walmart.com/catalog/product.do?product_id=11019697&sourceid=1500000000000003260430&ci_src=14110944&ci_sku=11019697

Leave a Reply

