Skip to content

Love Actually is All Around

February 14, 2010

Happy Valentine’s Day!  I know that some people hate Valentine’s Day, but I enjoy the love (and sugar) involved in the holiday.

I have such great Valentine’s memories, and not just because I have a significant other.  I have two distinct “singleton” Valentine’s memories that stick out.

First, when I was in high school, Valentine’s day was tons of fun.  I remember carrying around a bag full of candy (did I win it in French class?), and then there were the flowers.  As a fundraiser for National Honor Society, they sold carnations and had them delivered during classes.  I had (and still have) some wonderful high school friends, and felt so loved receiving flowers from my loved ones!

Secondly, back in college, I was involved in Purdue Musical Organizations, which did a “Singing Valentines” fundraiser.  I spent the entire day with about 5 other people driving to different locations around town, delivering messages of love in song form.  I even got to sing on the radio (at an ungodly hour!).  It was a great way to spend the day, especially if you didn’t have someone special, sharing love with friends and strangers.

Of course, I am lucky now to have a wonderful boyfriend.  I can’t believe it’s our FOURTH Valentine’s Day!  And our second one where we live in the same town (okay, also the same house 😉 ).

I decided to do something special for him for Valentine’s.  So first I picked up a new Wii game and another steering wheel.

Now we can both play Mario Kart!  I am also amazed at how many memories the Super Mario Brothers brings back.  It’s the same music and everything!

Then I made him some chocolate sugar cookies using this recipe and peanut butter frosting using half of this recipe.    I used whole wheat flour (since I figured the cocoa and peanut butter frosting would over power any flavor from the whole wheat) and also all natural peanut butter, which tasted so great! I found these cute little cookie cutters at Stop ‘n Shop.'[

These cookies are fabulous.

Taking the leftovers to bells to get them OUT OF MY KITCHEN!

When we got back from studying Saturday afternoon, guess what was waiting at our door . . .

Aren’t they pretty!  I have never seen this shape of roses before.

I can’t wait for them to open up.  Big open roses just make me smile!

I hope you have a fabulous Valentine’s Day, regardless of which box you check on those forms!

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 15, 2010 11:57 AM

    Those flowers are gorgeous!!!

Leave a Reply

