Skip to content

An Egg-celent Quiche

February 9, 2010

You know what’s weird?  I don’t like eggs.  I’m warming up to some cheese.  And yet I love quiche lorraine! And now I have a new snack/breakfast.

Mini quiche lorraine (with a bit of a mexican twist):

5 eggs.

1 12 oz. can of evaporated skim milk

1 c. mexican blend of cheese.

4 slices of canadian bacon, chopped

1/2 red onion, chopped

1 green chili, chopped

Place bacon, cheese, onion, and chili in the bottom of the cupcake pan.

Whisk together eggs and evaporated milk.  Pour over “fillings”.

Bake at 350 for 25 minutes.

This yields 12 mini quiches.  I’m going to start trying some other fillings next time I make them.

Fruits & Veggies for the day:  banana; strawberry jam (if it’s all natural does it count?); salad of lettuce, beets, and carrots; veggie pizza of spinach, peppers, olives, and mushrooms.

On another note, I actually went to sleep last night before midnight!  I’ve been to work before 8am the last two days.  We’re super busy, and I’d like to keep my evenings free for studying.

And the random story of the night:  when Matt went to the check out line at CVS, he jumped back a bit.  I looked over and saw startled him: a ferret!  This lady had a ferret in the hood of her coat.  I think she knew it was there.  WHO DOES THAT!?!  It’s like bringing a giant rat into a public space!  At least it was well behaved, and just looked around while she returned some items.

Now to cheer on the Boilers.  Hope they put the Spartans away soon, and I can go to bed.  6:30am training session!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2010 7:34 AM

    That mini quiche idea is fantastic! I’ve got to try that.

    • February 10, 2010 8:42 AM

      I’m not going to lie, they’re delicious! And great for a quick protein snack! Just make sure to spray the foil cupcake liners. I forgot and now mine are a bit stuck (edible, but stuck). Let me know how it goes!

  2. February 10, 2010 12:18 PM

    YUM! I make something similar to that all the time for me and my husband! It is easy for quick on the go protein snacks!

Trackbacks

  1. Let there be cupcakes! « Thefitbridesmaid's Blog
  2. Three Months To Go « Thefitbridesmaid's Blog

Leave a Reply

