Skip to content

Sleep, why do you elude me?

February 3, 2010

Sorry about not posting last night.  I spent two hours studying for the PE (we’re finished with concrete!) and then another 3 (well maybe only 2.5 thanks to Tivo) watching “LOST”!!

So I’d like to discuss my love/hate relationship with SLEEP, as in I hate sleep at night, but love it in the morning.  I believe that this began even before I was born.  I used to have a theory that the proximity your birthdate was from your due date had an effect on your sleeping patterns.  I was born 12 days late, and I’ve always been a person who sleeps in.  Whereas one of my brothers was a day early, and he would always be up at the crack of dawn on Saturdays to watch cartoons (I would drag myself out of bed in order to watch Saved by the Bell at 11am).

Anyway, my “night-owl”-ness was evident as I was growing up.  I used to read by the light of the hallway all night (one friend told me that he HOPES his kids get in trouble for this!).  Or I would go downstairs and watch college basketball with my dad, claiming that “I couldn’t sleep”.  (This is when I learned that Xavier was pronounced “Zavier” and not “X-avier”).   I even remember a time in fourth grade when I only got about 4 hours of sleep, because my insomnia kept me up until 3:30am!

Throughout the years I have developed some “coping” mechanisms, such as my sleep position.  I pretty much have to be in this position in order to fall asleep.

(On my left side, not my right side).  I have also learned a way to distract my brain from the worries of the day by making up stories.  I would fantasize about how I would become a famous actress or marry the man of my dreams (usually my current crush or my default, Prince William).  This would allow me to relax and drift off into slumber.

Of course once I finally do fall asleep, I don’t always stay asleep.  My college roommate has diagnosed me (pretty much from day one of the five years we lived together) with sleep apnea.  This would explain why I remember at least one dream almost every night.  I can wake up multiple times each night, often looking at the clock and calculating just how much more sleep I can get.

Why am I writing all of this?  First of all, sleep is obviously tied into a healthy lifestyle.  Also in the past few weeks I’ve definitely been having some insomnia issues.  Last night I might have dozed off and on between 12:30am and 2:00am, but I definitely didn’t fully fall asleep until almost 4:00am!  I just couldn’t seem to relax and stop my brain from thinking.    This doesn’t help when I’m trying to (a) get myself to fall asleep earlier so that I can get into the office BEFORE 9am and (b) wake up around 6:00am at least once a week for my training session.

Does anyone have any suggestions?  What helps you fall asleep? I usually like to read until I’m very sleepy, and that can help.  I also know that I need to get myself into some kind of routine.

February Monthly Goals:

Okay, finally have my February goals

  • Eating Eat 5 veggies and fruits and TELL THE BLOGOSPHERE EVERY DAY!
  • Exercise Use the WiiFit once per week (guess I should use it since I got it)
  • Personal #1 Figure out something to get/do for Matt for Valentine’s Day?  I always feel like this holiday is all about the girls, and I want to do something special with Matt.  Any suggestions?
  • Personal #2 Choose what to give up for Lent.  How about “sex for money”? 😉  Seriously, my usuals are soda/chocolate.  But I was thinking about doing something crazy like meat.
8 Comments leave one →
  1. Beckey permalink
    February 4, 2010 7:11 AM

    Have you ever tried to meditate? I find even the most simple “hum-sah” breathing meditation helps nearly instantly. Also, how about a peaceful yoga session (not an aerobic workout)? I’ve read recommendations that say to stop watching tv close to bedtime and to kill some lights. You know I’m the polar opposite of you in sleep time habits, but I’ve struggled with getting to sleep, often during stressful or hormonal times. In my opinion, there’s nothing worse. Sorry babe!

    • February 4, 2010 9:06 AM

      Sometimes I try to think of some meditation exercises we used to do in theater. I also know that I can’t go from watching TV to sleeping in bed in a five minute time frame. I’ve also heard that about the lights. You shouldn’t have an overhead light on while you read, because subconsciously you think it’s the sun, and think it’s still day time.

      I really think that I need to say, “okay, going to bed” at like 10:30, go read, and relax, and hopefully sleep will come.

    • February 4, 2010 1:47 PM

      I should also say that I’m pretty sure one thing that is REALLY keeping me up is worrying about Tom. He’s leaving in a week and a half, and it scares me so much! Once I start thinking about him, it’s hard to stop.

      These next 7-14 months could be so bad (although he’s hoping he’ll be back by my birthday)

  2. February 4, 2010 7:24 AM

    Sleep eludes me too! And I think your theory is correct because I was born like a month late! I also sleep in the same position that you have the picture of.

    Probably about once a month, I don’t sleep AT ALL! And the other nights tend to be a struggle.

    Boy do I wish I had tips for you. I guess my best one is to try to not care how much sleep you get. When I tell myself that even if I don’t sleep at all tonight, I will make it through the day tomorrow, usually I can fall asleep. I also take melatonin sometimes…

    • February 4, 2010 9:07 AM

      The other night was definitely a night where the more I thought about how I WASN’T sleeping, the more awake (and frustrated) I became. I know that I can go on very little sleep, I just hate to do it!

      That’s funny about the being born a month late and the sleeping position. 🙂

  3. February 4, 2010 11:43 AM

    Usually when I can’t sleep it is because I have too much going on in my head. So I get up and write it out. That gets it out of my head and usually I can go to sleep after that!

    • February 4, 2010 11:48 AM

      yup, that’s usually the reason! I could try writing it out.

  4. Beckey permalink
    February 4, 2010 9:39 PM

    Writing helps BIG TIME! Even if it’s just ramndom rambling.

Leave a Reply

