Skip to content

La Casa De Pedro es MUY BIEN!

January 30, 2010

Okay, so I don’t actually speak Spanish (did I get it right?), but I just have to rave about one of my favorite restaurants in Watertown.

LA CASA DE PEDRO

Matt gave me the choice for date night last night and I was craving something spicy.  But I couldn’t think of a good Mexican restaurant near us, so I said “How about Pedro’s?”  Matt said, “TASTY!”  He loves the side dishes that come with all of the entrees.

I started the night off with a jalapeno margarita.

Unfortunately, I realized a few sips in that I don’t like margaritas (something about it reminded me of Long Islands, which was my drink when I was 21, and I just didn’t like the strong taste).  But I paid a bit for it, so I decided to finish it!

Anyway, on to the awesome food!

I got Salmón Rubén Blades, which is salmon with some shrimp and onions/peppers.  And the usual sides of yucca, rice & beans, and fried plantains.  I ate about half of the salmon and rice, all of my yucca (my favorite side), and gave Matt he plantains.

The best part?  I got to have the left overs for dinner tonight!

Of course, I added some peas for some green veggies.

While I was heating up my food, Matt went to Wild Willy’s to pick up a cheeseburger (his favorite) for dinner.  I decided to have some onion rings for dessert.

Have half of these leftover for a snack later next week.  All about balance, right?

Do you have a favorite restaurant?  Any recommendations for the Boston area?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 30, 2010 10:53 PM

    I would’ve drank that margarita for you! Margaritas are the best part about Mexican dining. There’s a restaurant in Charleston called Uno Moss, and it’s the only place I’ve seen the jalepeno margarita. It’s my fave!

    • January 31, 2010 12:48 PM

      The waiter asked how spicy I wanted it. I definitely could have gone spicier. Maybe next time I’ll just send you the margarita and enjoy some wine.

  2. January 31, 2010 12:22 PM

    Aahhh, long island iced teas. How is it that a random assortment of booze, lime and cola can taste exactly like iced tea?? It’s always fascinated me. LOVE yucca 😀

    • January 31, 2010 12:50 PM

      The story behind LI Iced Teas is that some women (in long island) were out for lunch and wanted a drink, but didn’t want their bosses to come in and see them drinking. So the waiter whipped up something that looked like “tea.”

      I tried to make yucca at home, but I didn’t boil it long enough. Maybe I’ll try it again.

Leave a Reply

