Skip to content

Cheetah’s Never Prosper!

January 18, 2010

But they do taste good with ketchup!

Well, I decided to play the role of a “house-wife” today, since I had MLK off and Matt didn’t.  Unfortunately, I couldn’t get to sleep last night until almost 4am, so I slept in until 11am.  I caught up on my Tivo’d wedding shows (“Whose Wedding is it Anyway?” and “My Fair Wedding”.)  Finally I told myself to get outside and do a bit of cardio digging out the driveway and my car from the inch of snow and ice we got over night.  Went to Target, gym and grocery and back home to make some food!

First up, another batch of West African Vegetable Soup and it smells delicious!  Can’t wait to eat it for lunch this week!

Then I tried one of my first “Deceptively Delicious” recipes:  chicken nuggets!

COATING:

1 c. whole wheat bread crumbs

1/2 c. milled flax

1 tbsp grated Parmesan

1/2 tsp. paprika

1/2 tsp. garlic salt

1/2 tsp. onion powder

DIPPING FOR COATING:

mix together 1 large egg, lightly beaten, and 1 c. pureed veggies (I chose broccoli). Here’s the coating and dipping:

Cut up 1 lb. chicken breasts into nuggets. Sprinkle with salt, dip in egg mixture, then coat thoroughly with bread crumb mixture.

Fry in skillet 3-4 minutes each side.  I used olive oil for frying the nuggets.  Unfortunately, the first batch needed more oil and for me to TURN DOWN THE HEAT, so they were a bit burnt:

You can see a bit of the broccoli puree peeking out.

To accompany the nuggets, I finally made up a batch of cheetahs (carmelized sweet potato chips).

Here are the nuggets, cheetah’s, and dipping sauces (ketchup and BBQ sauce) for mine and Matt’s feast:

The breading on the nuggets was delicious!  Matt even ate them!  He couldn’t even taste the broccoli (although he spied the odd green parts of the breading).

VERY TASTY AND FILLING DINNER!!

BOOKS BOOKS BOOKS

So one my goals this year is to read one book per month.  Well I started reading “In Defense of Food” and decided to add some fiction with “Lovely Bones”.  I’m about 1/3-1/2 of the way through it, and I don’t think I can read it right now.  It makes me cry every time I read it, and it makes me think about Tom (my brother who is deploying next month) and all of the bad things that can happen.

So does anyone have any fiction recommendations (that don’t involve death, loss, etc.)? My favorite books are silly girl books like “Bridget Jones” and “Something Borrowed”.

Have a great four day week!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2010 10:25 PM

    Love the deceptively delicious recipe! I’m not sure Stephen would eat chicken nuggets if he saw green poking out the sides though-no matter how good it tasted…haha.

    Last year I read the most frivilous, yet wonderful, book. Time of My Life. When I read the back, I thought is sounded kind of stupid. I’m usually a biography kind of gal, but I loved this one!

    • Anne permalink*
      January 19, 2010 10:57 AM

      That sounds good! I feel like I’ve heard of it! Thanks!

Trackbacks

  1. Who cut the cheese(cake)? « Thefitbridesmaid's Blog

Leave a Reply

