Skip to content

VEGGIES ARE SO 2010!

January 3, 2010

So after eating all of that WONDERFUL food that I talked about in my earlier posts Part 1 and 2.  I knew that I needed to eat veggies NOW!  The other day Susan asked about how we crave after indulging, and seriously, I just want to eat veggies and DRINK WATER!!  LOTS AND LOTS OF WATER!

Thus, when we went out to dinner with Matt’s mom’s family to the S&S Cafeteria, I only ordered vegetables (and fruit):

A very tasty fruit salad (sometimes fruit cocktails have one general taste, but this one I could taste ALL of the fruits), stewed tomatoes and okra, and mashed potatoes.  Very satisfying and I felt pretty healthy after this meal.

Saturday we celebrated Matt’s grandad’s 95th birthday (Really we should take health tips from him, he is in GREAT shape and has a cane, but doesn’t really need it).  Since everyone else in Matt’s family had gone early to get the hall ready for the party, Matt and I had the house to ourselves.  I started the day with peanut butter spoon, banana, and sausage balls

(Peanut butter spoon not shown, ate it too fast!)

After that, Matt and I did two loops around the neighborhood (we did one on January first).  It’s about 3/4 of a mile according to mapmyrun with a pretty nice hill right in the middle.

Afterwards, I did a modified workout #3 from my holiday planning twice:

  1. Warm Up: Buttkicks, High Knees, Jumping Jacks
  2. Elbows to Knees: 12x
  3. 1 Legged Pistol Squats: 12x
  4. Front & Side Raises: 12x
  5. Crunch & Punch: 12x
  6. Scissor Runs: 12x
  7. Fast Side Lunges: 1 minute
  8. Push ups & tricep dips: 12x each
  9. Side Plank Crunch:12x each side
  10. 100’s (the abs pilates move)
  11. Flutter Kicks, Scissor Kicks, Leg Lifts: 12x each side

I realized that I had “elbows to knees” twice and a lack of arm exercises, so I added in pushups and triceps.  Since I was doing this in the living room and didn’t have weights, I picked up two liters for my front and side arm raises.

After 4 days of traveling in a car, my muscles were BEGGING to be used and stretched.  My “week” of rest is over.  I can’t wait to get back to the gym.  I also really enjoyed my ab exercises.  I think from all of the sitting in the car, my stomach was OBVIOUSLY not being used, and thus felt GREAT to be exercised!

Then we went to the 95th birthday party.  I didn’t really want cake (I would much rather prefer homemade cakes, that excuse usually gets me out of some cakes!), so I had two plates of the following:

Cracker, candy almonds, nuts, m&m’s . . mmmm

We then went out to Calhoun’s for dinner, meeting up with Matt’s friend Matt (whose wife reads my blog YAY in a non stalkerish way . . . HI KRISTIN!)  Thus Matt (the friend) told my Matt’s family about the blog and I began to be free to take pictures of my food at restaurants.  His mom said “Oh pictures to say ‘Look at how healthy I am eating’?” Sarcastically I should say, “Yeah, just like this meal.”

Ribs, baked potato, onion rings from Matt’s mom’s salad (the entire family has an aversion to onions that I just do NOT understand).  Not pictured is my salad for appetizer.  Also, I ate all of the ribs, but only about 1/3 of the potato.  I was FULL!

Sunday had a few more good foods:  banana and only TWO sausage balls before church.  Then a half size spinach-shrimp salad at Applebees.

Snacked on some more nuts and a cookie or two then wasn’t too hungry, so after we got to the Knoxville airport, we went to Quiznos.  I got a veggie sub without cheese.  Since the only size they have in airports is “regular”, I had the ingenious idea to just take all of my veggies from half of the sub and combine them into one half of the sub.  IT WAS STUFFED!

The sub had onions, olives, mushrooms, tomatoes, lettuce, some vinegarette, and GUACAMOLE!! (I love guacamole, and need to add it into my diet more!)

Now we’re sitting in the Charlotte airport.  Our original flight plan was supposed to go through DCA, but it was cancelled Friday, so we were rerouted through Charlotte. Now our CLT to BOS flight is delayed by an hour.    At least it gave me a chance to finish up this post!

Back to reality tomorrow. It was a great 1.5 week vacation.  Now just 2.75 days of work until I go BACK to the ‘Nati for Amy’s wedding!

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 4, 2010 9:45 AM

    The stewed tomatoes and okra speak to me LOL. I’ve really been enjoying tomato sauce as a comfort food lately. Just chicken in pasta sauce, sans the pasta. It still gives me that comfort food feeling, but so much better.

    I thought the wedding was soon. I’m sure you’ll be stunning. Can’t wait for some pics 🙂

Leave a Reply

