Skip to content

Healthy Food Lovers Beware: Part 2

January 1, 2010

Part 2: Atlanta, Bowl games, and New Year’s Eve

So after my nonhealthy food adventures north of the Mason-Dixon line, we returned to the south for some true southern fattening cooking.

New Year’s Eve morning we headed to Atlanta with Matt’s parents to go to the Chick-Fil-A bowl. Again, started the day out innocently with healthy apples and peanut butter.

I have OD’d on apples, plus they usually make me MORE hungry.  But everything’s better with peanut butter!

On our drive down, we stopped at Arby’s (something that we don’t have up in Boston) and I ate one of the very few versions of red meat that passes my lips . . AN ARBY’S REGULAR!!  Mmmmm . . .

Finally made it to Georgia.  We stayed with some of my family and headed down to the game with my mom and step dad where the six of us ate at the Varsity!  You wanna talk about a greasy spoon!  I had a grilled chicken sandwich (to get SOME sort of protein) and the tastiest onion rings EVER!!

Matt had a chili cheese burger, a chili dog, and french fries.  Can’t you just feel the arteries clogging up?

On to the game!  The Chick-Fil-A bowl was University of Tennessee vs. Virginia Tech.  Matt and I went to Virginia Tech for grad school (where we met, awww!) and his parents (and many members of his family) have degrees from Tennessee.  We got tickets with his parents in the UT section and were proudly wearing our maroon!  I don’t want to bad mouth the UT fans, but they were kind of obnoxious. I mean seriously, VT was #12 going into the game with a 9-3 record.  UT had a 7-5 record and was not ranked.  Although who knows what the VT fans were like in their section, and I wasn’t about to open my mouth until we put some points on the board.  Our UT neighbors were especially miffed when we pulled a “Texas” and made the officials put two seconds back on the clock to kick a field goal at the end of the first half.  I won’t bore you with more football talk, so long story short . . . HOKIES WIN!!  We dominated the second half and won 37-14.  I had a two bowl game losing streak going into the game (in bowls that I had attended), so I was VERY happy for VT!! YAY!

Here’s Matt and I at the end of the game:

Perhaps I should have put the flash on . . .

After the game, we walked to Five Points to watch the Peach Drop and ring in 2010.

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!  Resolutions and Back on Track goals are soon to follow.  Now back to watching football . . . the Big Ten is doing well!  Ohio State and Penn State both won.  Purdue beat WVU in basketball (to become 13-0).  Also, Purdue practically won the Rose Bowl!  (Since they are responsible for one of OSU’s two losses!)

Hope you all had a wonderful New Year and are preparing for an even better 2010!!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 1, 2010 10:32 PM

    I’m so jealous that your new years was spent outside! I’m starting to get sick of snow. 🙂
    Love the idea to have peanut butter and apples. Think I’ll have some tomorrow. Thank-you!

  2. Beckey permalink
    January 3, 2010 10:34 AM

    You went to the Varsity and didn’t get a HOT DOG?!?! AHHHH!

    • January 3, 2010 10:20 PM

      Hey, I barely even wanted the grilled chicken sandwich. I would have been happy with just the onion rings, but thought I might be STARVING later, without some bit of “sustinance”

Trackbacks

  1. VEGGIES ARE SO 2010! « Thefitbridesmaid's Blog
  2. To Count or Not To Count « Thefitbridesmaid's Blog

Leave a Reply

