Skip to content

Healthy Food Lovers Beware: Part 1

January 1, 2010

Part 1:  Cincinnati Family Time

Warning:  the foods consumed in the last few days (many of which will be featured in these posts) are by NO MEANS considered healthy foods.  Napking may be required to wipe the drool from your chin.

So let’s see, Matt and I headed up to Cincinnati at 8am on Tuesday morning to visit with my dad’s family (especially my little brother who will be deployed in a month or two).  The day started out innocently enough with a mini Clif bar:

Then Matt decided to stop at Chick-Fil-A around 10:30.  For some reason, the two mini croissants he ate at 8am were just not holding him . . . SURPRISE SURPRISE!  I need to teach the boy about fiber and protein . . .  Anyway, I love Chick-Fil-A and rarely get to eat it, so, I had to get a chicken biscuit . . .

I do love their diet lemonade, too!!  Anyway, when we got to Cincinnati, we decided to head over to Skyline for some Cincinnati chili!  Matt loves it!  I’ve heard it might be a Cincinnati thing, but I love it!  I only got two coneys (no cheese).

My brothers each had four coneys!  CHUBBY BOYS!  Here’s my brother, Tom, enjoying his coneys

And no trip to Cincinnati is complete without some Graeter’s ice cream!  This is where I worked in high school. My favorite is Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip!  Matt got some Buckeye Blitz.  This ice cream is so rich and good!  The giant chocolate chips are made by pouring liquid bittersweet in to the ice cream and letting it break how it will as it cools.

After all of this eating of WONDERFUL food (tasty yet very rich), we had dinner at my dad’s.  He made a roast with salad and baked potatoes.  Thank goodness I am not a big red meat fan, so it was easy to say no to fatty meat and yes to a baked potato and this tasty salad:

Following dinner, we stretched Christmas out just a bit more, and celebrated with my dad and brothers.  My younger brother, Tom, did a wonderful job of wrapping his present:

Don’t you love the note from my stepdad informing my brother that this was his present to me?

My dad got Matt and me matching sweaters.  Aren’t we fashionable?

At least they look warm.

Then we met up with some of my friends and Tom’s friends for some drinks at BW3’s.  I love this place as a place to hangout, and wish we had it up in Beantown!

I had four glasses of wine at BW’s (thank goodness Matt was driving home).

Wednesday morning, we woke up and drove to Richmond, Indiana to visit with Grandma (dad’s mom) and Grandmother (mom’s mom).  It was so nice to visit with family.  Towards the end of the evening, we had to do a few family pictures to document the occasion.

Grandmother, Tom, and Grandma

Matt, Aunt Sue, Dad, Me, Tom, Becky, Grandma

And finally,

Me and Cpl. Tom of the USMC.  He’s leaving for a 7-14 month tour of Afghanistan (his second tour).  It was so hard to say good bye.  Can’t even type about it now without tearing up.    Please keep him and all of our service men and women in your prayers.

Coming up . . . part 2 . . . and you thought there couldn’t possibly be more bad food in the country!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 1, 2010 7:31 PM

    I hate to hear that your brother is leaving for his second tour. I’m very thankful for brave people like him though. Stephen, my boyfriend, did one tour in Afghanistan and it was a hard time in my life.

  2. January 1, 2010 8:49 PM

    What branch is he in?
    I just can’t wait for him to come back. Thanks for your kind words.

Trackbacks

  1. VEGGIES ARE SO 2010! « Thefitbridesmaid's Blog

Leave a Reply

