Skip to content

Macaroons, Morning Exercise, and M’s BDay

December 29, 2009

Okay, so where did we leave off?

Well on the first day after Christmas . . my true love gave to me . . . A FREE GINGERBREAD KIT!  They were giving them out at the Food Lion (Food City?), whatev.  So that provided us an hour of entertainment while we watched BC lose to USC.

Here’s the gingerbread kit team (minus me):And the finished product!And the rear view:

Notice how the two structural engineers had to add some reinforcement to the back of the snowman and gingerbread man to get them to stand up straight.

Sunday was church then lunch at Outback (had shrimp en fuego . . . not much of a red meat person).  Then I told M that we had to go running.  I guess the last few days of not exactly eating the best things was catching up or something, but I just couldn’t go more than two minutes of jogging.  So we walked (with spurts of jogging) for about 2.5-3 miles.  Still took 45 minutes, burned 450 calories, avg HR of 151, max HR of 179.

Afterwards, M’s friend came over to watch the Colts game (don’t get me started! STUPID COACHES!)  and then the Clemson game (which they won, hooray!).  In lieu of dinner, I ate a ton of macaroons:

I also had some apples, carrots, oranges, and a snack of a mini clif bar (peanut butter of course).  So, question, does anyone have a good macaroon recipe? I tried to make them last year and while they were a bit yummy, they didn’t look like the ones that I’ve gotten at bakeries.

Anyway, M’s mom goes to the gym for swimming aerobics, so I asked to tag along to the gym this morning.  I had an hour and half (WAHOO!  M usually only gives me 45 minutes, 60 max), so I did one of my PT routines.  I wished that I had brought them, so I just did one of my last ones that I remembered.  It was the really hard arm one, which started with chin ups!

So yeah, morning exercise.  I’m an evening exerciser.  I’ve always heard that you should workout when you feel your best.  And I’m a night person.  The last few times that I’ve gone in the morning, I get really nauseous/dizzy, and my heart rate is high. Any suggestions? I did eat a banana before I went.  Should I have some more protein?  Should I wait a bit before going? I am concerned, because I was going to start going 2 mornings per week when I get back (to work with my study schedule).

Still I according to my HRM: 566 calories, 70 minutes (I laid down and did gentle stretching for the last 15 minutes or so), 177 max HR, 138 avg HR (that was all of my breaks to stop feeling nauseous).

Afterwards, I came home and munched on PB spoon and chex mix while we played some cards.  Then it was lunch time, where I decided to start eating better.  I made a salad of spring mix greenery, carrots, and BBQ pork.  And, since today is M’s birthday (and his twin sister, D), we had COOKIE CAKE!

OH NO!  My secret code of using letters has been broken!  Oh well, Happy Birthday Matt and Diana!

Then it was onto the bookstores and dinner at a fancy restaurant, the Regas.  It’s a steak and seafood place, complete with cheese wagon!

I actually am not a big cheese fan, so I wasn’t too excited.  Anyway, I decided to order the scallops and potato.  The last time we were here, I had the scallops and I remember not liking them, but I couldn’t remember why.  Unfortunately, they only have seafood and steak on the menu (no chicken), and I am not a red meat person (seriously, I eat it about once/twice per year at Arbys).  So I again went with the scallops.  Okay, I live in Boston, I should know that it wouldn’t be THAT great in Tennessee, and yes, not so good.  Here are my slightly overdone and/or slightly cold scallops and baked potato (we started with a nice salad with honey vinegarette though)

We finished the meal with some red velvet cake for birthdays.  I had a small piece.  It was a bit dry, but had REAL BUTTERCREAM icing!  SO TASTY!

After dinner, we went to see “Sherlock Holmes”.  It was really good!  I would recommend it!

By the way, we also saw “Avatar” the other day . . . meh . . I don’t know if I liked it.  The first 45 minutes concentrated on the main character who was a marine who had lost his legs (hitting a bit close to home with my brother, so I was uncomfortable), and then they were being chased in the jungle (one of my big fears, why I didn’t like LOTR #1 that much).  Afterwards, it was okay.  The plot was rather obvious.  Someone told us that it is a bad rendition of “Dances with Wolves” (an AWESOME movie) and makes of for a mediocre screenplay with visual effects.  I concur.  It was cool looking, but that was all.

Okay, must scoot.  We have to wake up early to drive up to Cincinnati!

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 29, 2009 9:17 AM

    I’ve always wanted to make a gingerbread house. Yours is so cute!

    About morning exercise…maybe you could try eating a full meal before you go? Like a bowl of cereal or oatmeal. I have terrible workouts if I’ve not fueled enough.

Leave a Reply

