Skip to content

Joyeux Noel!

December 26, 2009

Did you know it’s Christmas (okay, the day after)?  Sorry to be MIA for a few days.  I guess it’s been busy, so let’s start with Wednesday, December 23rd.

We got to Logan Airport about 1.5 hours before our flight, and it was DEAD!  Seriously, there was no line at the airport.  The flight to Charlotte was uneventful aside from the two kids behind us.  The one year old screamed for about 15 minutes before the flight took off, then the three year old kept asking “Are we in the air?  How about now?  Now?  Now?”  Anyway, had two hours to kill in Charlotte.  We wanted to have a sit down dinner, so we went to the Fox Skybox in Terminal E.  I was very surprised at how tasty the food was (and how good our waitress was!)  M got tortellini and I got a Southwest Salad (chicken, beans, corn, avocado . . mmmmm).  We had no problems on our flight to Knoxville either.  That is until we got there!  I had to gate check one of my bags in Charlotte since it was such a little plane over to Knoxville.  And then they lost it!?!  How do you lose a gate checked bag?  My bag that I had ALL of my jewelry, M’s birthday present, our coats, Lost Season5, my Polar F6 . . . aww geez!  I was FREAKING OUT!  Luckily, they found it and it got to me about 4pm on Christmas Eve.  And all of its contents were in it.  I had a rather sleepless night on December 23rd, though.

Christmas Eve was a bit busy.   We wrapped presents, played games, had lunch at Ruby Tuesdays.  I still haven’t mastered taking pictures at restaurants (especially with guests), so there are no pictures from December 23rd.  Then went to the 6 o’clock candlelight service.  M’s mom and sister were playing bells at the service, and they ended up needing a sub . . ta da!  So I got to play bells at their church!  HA!  It was bass bells (C4 through G4) and pretty easy music, but difficult with so many bells and the way the music was set up.

Anyway, after that went to M’s dad’s parents for Christmas, then headed to Applebees with everyone else and their brother (it was the only food place open aside from Krystal AKA White Castle).  I had the Shrimp Diavolo, which was pretty tasty!

Finally CHRISTMAS MORNING!

M woke me up at like 8:30, because he was excited (and hungry, typical!).   My mom was sad that I couldn’t be with her for Christmas, so she sent me a stocking and lots of presents that I could open up in Tennessee.  First my stocking . . . (we are always allowed to open it before breakfast):

Santa always brings lots of candy and an ornament.  Reese’s trees are my favorites.  I had one for breakfast on Christmas and one for breakfast today.

FINALLY PRESENT TIME!!  Here’s the spread:

Santa, my mom and stepdad, and m’s family were very good to me!

M’s sister knitted me a beautiful scarf.  Then we have “The Lovely Bones” YAY A NEW BOOK TO READ!  And “Deceptively Delicious”.  Everytime it says “to trick your kids”, I think it should say “to trick M”.  He doesn’t eat a lot of veggies, so I’m going to sneak them into some foods.  The concept is to put pureed veggies into classic dishes.  Most of the dishes aren’t THAT healthy, but not too bad.  Just making kids eat veggies.

YAY! NEW MOVIES!!  I haven’t seen “Night at the Museum 2”.

Of course, my mom sewed us some holiday/winter pillow cases.  Then a pretty sweater (that I helped to pick out over Thanksgiving).  And an ASCE calendar of BRIDGES!!  Something to replace my two year old Purdue calendar in my cube.

Wii Fit!  I’ve heard it’s not the BEST workout ever, but I figure it could be fun.  Especially the beginning part when it tells me that I’m overweight!

Here are a few of M’s presents:  giant red suitcase, clothes, books, pillow cases

More shirts, MarioKart (for Wii) and a foot!

Then we had to clean up for M’s mom’s family to come over.  We had a tasty meal of turkey, stuffing, rolls, sweet potato casserole, green beans, corn, fruit, and of course dessert.  I was sad that there were no mashed potatoes, but that’s okay.  I had some turkey, stuffing, sweet potatoes and fruit.  Then a few cookies for dessert.

Here’s a few of the family (and one of M) anxiously awaiting a Christmas Feast

Ha!  That’s not the best picture of M.  After dinner and a few more presents, and a board game, the family left.  Then we played two games of Rook.  M’s family is really into games.  M was exhausted after that (he did wake us up at 8:30!)  So he took a nap (I was unsuccessful at getting a good picture of him napping):

After naps and dinner had settled, it was (of course) time to eat again, so here’s my small dinner: leftover shrimp diavolo from Applebees, and some salad.

Then we watched “Drop Dead Gorgeous” (I love this movie!  It’s hysterical)

Now a pretty open day after Christmas.  Had the second Reese’s tree for breakfast, then went to IHOP, where I had the nutella crepes and some turkey sausage.  Probably not the most healthy thing ever . . . but eh!

Phew!  That took forever (the internet was super slow with the pics).  I hear them playing some games, so I must go investigate.

Enjoy the weekend!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Beckey permalink
    December 26, 2009 3:09 PM

    Fun! Be prepared, Lovely Bones is good but WAY creepy at points.

  2. December 26, 2009 11:24 PM

    My boyfriend isn’t such a fan of veggies either. He likes carbs and meat. I had to twist his arm to sample my chickpea creations a few weekends ago. I’d like to know what you think about the book!

Trackbacks

  1. To Count or Not To Count « Thefitbridesmaid's Blog

Leave a Reply

