Skip to content

Dancing Fools

December 21, 2009

Don’t worry, I get to the main point of the post in a moment, but first LOOK!!  Christmas came to the office!

That’s right!  It’s the AISC (American Institute of Steel Construction) Steel Manual, 13th Edition.  Who’s excited!?!  Now I can learn about steel beams, columns, connections, etc. etc.

Anyway, the main point of the post is to tell you all how much I love dancing.  Earlier today, Caitlin asked about what lifts your spirits. For me, it has to be listening to a great song and dancing around the house.

I started dancing when I was five and (even though I’m not the best at it) I have done it ever since.  Throughout high school my friends were also dancers.  Here’s a picture of us senior year in a lovely dancing pose (based on “Four Little Swans” from “Swan Lake”)

Our friend, the bride in three weeks!, learned a dance in high school for her recital to the song “Footloose”.  All of us ended up learning it and do it whenever we get together at a party.  Here’s a picture of us New Year’s 2007 doing it:

I also decided to teach myself “Thriller” one year for our sorority/fraternity dance competition.  We renamed it “Tiller” for our football coach at the time (and since it was right before our final game against IU).   So Thriller gets pulled out at random gatherings as well (such as Mandy’s wedding in 2008):

SCARY HUH?

Well I don’t want to give anything away, but some of these dances may be coming out at Amy’s wedding in a few weeks.  So in lieu of running tonight, I decided to practice these dances.  Thanks to Jeff for making a youtube of them!! 🙂  It was a pretty good cardio work out. It’s so much fun to just dance around the house.  I hope the landlady wasn’t concerned over all of the thudding!

I also decided to try to learn “Single Ladies”.  I just love the song and video (I’m sorry Taylor, I love you too!).  I think M is sick of me playing it . . . especially after I found the version by the “Chipettes” for the new Chipmunks movie!!

I also stayed a bit active tonight by joining M for some Wii golf and all of the Wii play games.  I suck at them!  He beat me like 3-15 (on the various games).  I think it’s because I’m not a lazy bum who plays video games all of the time.  (Just a lazy bum who plays on the computer and watches TV).  Also, my Wii age was 72 at first try.  I got it down to 52.  It’s the darn baseball!  Even though I played softball, I can’t get the timing on the baseball thing.  OH WELL!  Oh yeah, and M, his Wii age was 27.  He’ll be 27 a week from today.  Again, I blame the fact that I never play video games, and he does!  SO THERE!

What gets you in a good mood?  What are your favorite songs to dance to?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Beckey permalink
    December 22, 2009 6:57 AM

    So, I took two, maybe three of those pictures. Always the photographer, never the performer. THAT’S about to change! =)

    And watching y’all dance puts me in a good mood. =)

    • Beckey permalink
      December 22, 2009 7:00 AM

      No wait, I didn’t take the footloose one because I was video taping it. Der!

  2. December 22, 2009 8:59 PM

    Hmmm…that manual looks like a fabulous read…

    Loved the dancing pics! I like to dance, but I am absolutely horrible at it. I’m kind of interested in trying Zumba, but I’ve watched some YouTube videos, and I think there’s a bit too much hip movement involved for my abilities!

Leave a Reply

