Skip to content

Staying on Track During the Holidays

December 17, 2009

As promised, I have come up with a plan for the holidays.

This year is going to be very odd.  For the first time EVER I am not spending Christmas with my family.

We are flying to Knoxville to be with M’s family (I got Thanksgiving, he gets Christmas). (And traveling to Cincinnati to see my dad and brothers then going to Atlanta for the Chick-Fil-A bowl)

So here’s my plan for the week and a half of traveling:

I will workout at home right until we leave.  Then take off Christmas Eve and Christmas Day.  This is a brief outline, so I’m not sure if days will get changed around.  And I might not even get to workout all of those days, but at least I have my thoughts of when it would be feasible.

As far as what these workouts will consist of, well, I figured I could go running once or twice down in Knoxville (it’s not as cold or snowy as Boston).  Then I combined all of my 15 personal training sessions and picked out various exercises that are cardio, strength training, different portions of the body, etc.  Yes I made an excel sheet, because I’m a big dork, in order to organize the different moves.  Here are my three workouts that I developed:

Workout #1

  1. Warm Up: Buttkicks, High Knees, Jumping Jacks
  2. Burpees: 12x
  3. 1 Legged Squats: 12x each leg
  4. Push-ups: 12x
  5. Hollow Rock: 15x
  6. Clock Lunges: 12x each leg
  7. Tricep Dips: 12x
  8. Back Extensions:12x
  9. Planks Front & Side: 60 seconds each
  10. Leg Lift: 60 seconds
  11. Repeat 2-10 another 2x

Workout #2

  1. Warm Up: Buttkicks, High Knees, Jumping Jacks
  2. Axe Chop: 12x each side
  3. Squat Jumps: 12x
  4. Push-up Hops: 12x
  5. Leg Swing: 12x each side
  6. Foot Taps: 12x each side
  7. Plyometric Lunges: 12x each side
  8. Mountain Climbers: 12x each side
  9. Leg Lifts: 12x
  10. Ab Lengthen & Crunch:12x
  11. Repeat 2-10 another 2x

Workout #3

  1. Warm Up: Buttkicks, High Knees, Jumping Jacks
  2. Elbows to Knees: 12x
  3. 1 Legged Pistol Squats: 12x
  4. Front & Side Raises: 12x
  5. Crunch & Punch: 12x
  6. Scissor Runs: 12x
  7. Fast Side Lunges: 1 minute
  8. Elbows to Knees: 12x
  9. Side Plank Crunch:12x each side
  10. Flutter Kicks, Scissor Kicks, Leg Lifts: 12x each side
  11. Repeat 2-10 another 2x

And of course “Whittle My Middle Exercises” could be performed.  All of these exercises assume that the only space I have is in the guest room and that I have ZERO exercise equipment.  I should try to bring a yoga mat, but with the whole flying thing, it probably won’t work.

I am nervous about “weirding” out M’s family.  I mean it’s one thing for me to say “Hey Dad, I’m going for a run”, when I’m up in the ‘Nati, but what about M’s family.  If I get M to commit to some of it with me, then it wouldn’t be so bad.

I also have no idea what the plans are for most days in Knoxville, so we’ll have to play it all by ear.  I just can’t be afraid of missing workouts.  Our bodies do need a rest.  And concentrate on eating well.  His mom has been doing Weight Watchers for a few months (I can’t wait to see her!), so she’ll be supportive of healthy eating, I hope!

What are your holiday plans to stay on track?  Are you going to be “out of your comfort zone”?  Any advice from those who have been there before?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 17, 2009 7:33 PM

    I’m curious to learn what this “hollow rock” is.

  2. December 17, 2009 8:21 PM

    It’s like a pilates move. Lie on your back, put your arms out behind your head, legs out in front of you and ROCK back and forth. So a bit of an ab workout.

  3. December 17, 2009 10:23 PM

    This made me immediately think of this article if you have a bit of privacy so here are some ideas you may not have thought of:

    http://figureathlete.tmuscle.com/free_online_article/training/20minute_holiday_fitness_routine

    orrrrrrr, if you wanna get a bit more intense (maybe a bag of de-icing salt instead of sand) there are some EXCELLENT ideas in here:

    http://figureathlete.tmuscle.com/article/training/triple_threats_kill_cardio_and_burn_fat_like_an_athlete&cr=

    anyways, just throwing ideas out there as always 🙂 having made a plan and already troubleshot some potentional issues, it sounds like you’re on the right track! and mom being on WW will definitely come in handy. SO SO SO much easier when you have someone there to support you – or at least not harass you.

Trackbacks

  1. RUSH RUSH RUSH! « Thefitbridesmaid's Blog
  2. VEGGIES ARE SO 2010! « Thefitbridesmaid's Blog

Leave a Reply

