Skip to content

Soup’s On

December 16, 2009

I did pretty well as far as eating whole foods today:

Breakfast:  Peanut Butter spoon + Fiber One cereal and milk

Snack: Clif Bar, Chocolate Chip (okay, not sounding great so far, but stay with me)

Lunch:  Well we were supposed to have a lunch celebrating the end of a big project (where I worked three 16 hour days in a row over the summer!)   It was at the local Italian restaurant.  Unfortunately, they didn’t have our reservation and couldn’t seat 14 people without it.  So Christie and I took a walk down to Russo’s.  I never know what to get on the salad bar, so it’s usually just a mishmash of what sounds good that day:

Today we have: romaine, red onions, peas, carrots, red peppers, tuna, ham, sundried tomato dressing, cucumber, with a side of melon and pineapple.  Of course a bit of the salad fell down my sweater and onto my pants!  M always asks “Is there a day you don’t drop stuff on you?”  He suggested I should keep a Tide pen at work!

Dinner:  finished up the mexican chicken, corn, black beans, avocado, and tortilla.  Added a dash of chile lime hot sauce for some flavor.  DELISH!

I just haven’t really been feeling the ballet thing recently, so I decided to finally make the “West African Vegetable Soup” that I researched (had to figure out what I could use the cashew butter for).  I was pleasantly surprised!

“West African Vegetable Soup”

1 c. chopped onion

1 tsp. oil

3 c. sweet potato cut into 1in. cubes (I left the skin on, because I LOVE POTATO SKINS!)

1 14 oz can garbanzo beans

1 14 oz can vegetable broth (I might have used too many potatoes, so I also used 2 c. of water)

1/2 c. cashew butter

1 14 oz can diced tomatoes

1/2 tbsp. cumin

1/2 tsp. black pepper

1/8 tsp. salt

Saute the onions in the oil until lightly browned.  Add all other ingredients (could include any veggies lying around, but I didn’t this time).  Bring to a boil.  Reduce heat and simmer for 30 minutes, until veggies are tender.

SERIOUSLY TASTY!!  Kind of like a spicy squash soup.  I would recommend it to others looking to be adventurous.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 17, 2009 3:01 AM

    That soup sounds seriously yummy! I always eat my sweet potato skins too.

  2. December 17, 2009 8:28 AM

    It was! I’m so excited to eat it for lunch!

  3. Beckey permalink
    December 19, 2009 12:53 PM

    I’m totally going to make this! Wonder if Kroger has cashew butter.

    • December 19, 2009 1:35 PM

      I’m pretty sure they do. It was $5 for all natural cashew butter at Stop ‘n Shop up here. Let me know if you like the soup!

  4. December 19, 2009 2:32 PM

    That looks absolutely delicious!!

Trackbacks

  1. Monthly Goals Check In « Thefitbridesmaid's Blog
  2. Food Glorious Food « Thefitbridesmaid's Blog

Leave a Reply

