Skip to content

Backup Plans?

December 16, 2009

So my question from yesterday is, what do you have as back up plans if things don’t work out as you had thought?

(Sorry for the lack of pictures, I forgot my camera cord, so here are some pictures from the web)

First off, I had run out of bananas for breakfast, so I had a spoonful of peanut butter, and then decided to try a clif bar.  I was very surprised at the taste and the chewiness.  So many bars can be pretty dry and crunchy. 

My company is very big into lunch talks, where they provide the food.  I go off and on with bringing my own food.  Partially so that I know what I’m eating for lunch, and partially because sometimes the food choices get old.  I usually just tell people, “Oh, I’m sick of the lunch talk food”, if they ask.  Well, I’ve been on a “I can manage to eat what they provide” kick, and it bit me in the butt yesterday.  The food was LASAGNA!  YUCK!  First of all, it’s not that healthy, second of all I HATE RICOTTA!  So I took some mushroom/spinach lasagna, picked it apart, and ate the noodes and veggies.  Plus I filled up half of my plate with the salad option.

I had my training session, but didn’t bring a snack.  Recently, BAD BLOGGER, I’ve been just getting the trail mix out of the vending machine.  I figure, eh, it’ll give me energy and it’s better than eating the chips.  Well I didn’t have enough cash for the vending machine (at least in the right denominations), so I ended up stopping by the Rite Aid on my way to the gym.  They didn’t have much selection, so I got a Kashi bar, which was everything the Clif bar was not!  Very dry and kind of yucky!

My training session last night was HARD!!  Like, during the second round, I thought my arms were going to fall off, they were so tired.  So we only did two rounds, and then a bit of abs.  Just crunches on the incline with a weight and then leg lifts.  Unfortunately, my lack of quality food throughout the day was catching up.  And my tummy was not so happy.  Between the lack of good food and the intense work out . . . yes, I threw up a bit!  I had to stop with the abs and go lie down for a second.  It was not good.

LET THIS BE A LESSON TO ME!!  I need to plan better.  I had somewhat of a plan for the day, but it didn’t work out.  I need to have more control over what goes in my mouth . . . ARGH!

On that note, now that it is midway through December, I should check in on my December Goals:

  • Focus on whole foods (aka core plan/simply filling) and that “full” feeling
  • Definitely trying to focus.  I have made several meals out of my mexican buffet. And pumping up my turkey chili with beans  But this definitely could get better.   AND STEP AWAY FROM THE COOKIES!

  • Workout 5 days per week
  • CHECK!!  Working out is working out! (so far)

  • Whittle my Middle
  • Well between all of my other exercise activities, this gets done about 1-2 times per week.  Although, my trainer and I discussed last night that my middle is truly where I am lacking.  My extremities are toning up nicely, but as usual, it’s the tummy.  Hopefully I can focus on this over the Holidays, since I won’t be able to get to a gym.

  • Apply for PE, obtain study materials
  • CHECK!  Oh, I should have taken a picture of my completed packet.  It went in the mail yesterday.  I have also gotten the Civil Review Manual and hopefully my Steel Manual will be arriving this week.

  • Christmas shopping
  • Just two people left . . . what should I get a 12 year old boy?

  • Reduce alcohol consumption
  • Pretty good.  Just that night with Kathleen and the giant bottle . . .

  • Try new foods/recipes
  • I’m trying, I mean I’ve done two different versions of oatmeal.  Hopefully a new recipe this week . . just have to execute the plan.

  • Buy more running sports bras/workout shirts
  • ARGH!  Must get to a good sporting goods store . .

  • Take running stuff to TN for holidays (make M do it too!)
  • Be prepared for my Holiday Workout Plan.  I’m working on it today, and will hopefully post it tonight. 

    How are your goals going?

    4 Comments leave one →
    1. December 16, 2009 2:11 PM

      Do you ever shop for workout clothes at Target? They usually have good stuff with a much less expensive tag than the sporting goods store.

    2. December 16, 2009 2:41 PM

      Yes, but when I was there the other day it was ALL outerwear stuff. They had no dry-fit short sleeve shirts. Maybe I should just wait until spring.

    3. December 16, 2009 3:25 PM

      Hi there!

      It is nice to find a fellow blogger who is also an Engineer and from Boston. I grew up in MA attended UMass Lowell for Chem Eng, moved to GA to attend GA Tech for grad school, met my husband and am now living in Houston.. Couple things on your post hit home… #1 STUDY FOR THE PE Exam.. holly molly I am procastinating.. I was planning on taking it in April then signed up for a bike ride from Houston to Austin which is sechduled on the same weekend so that’s off the hook till fall.. grr… #2 lunch and learn’s at work. I stopped eating the food they provide.. for two reasons.. a-I became a vegetarian and everything that they provide as a vegetarian option is cheesed up pasta b- I like to keep track of my daily intake this way I know the quality of my meal.

    4. December 21, 2009 2:08 PM

      YAY WOMEN ENGINEERS!! (Sorry I never replied). I definitely need to just fend for myself with the lunch talks. That’s related to a December goal of mine. MAKE MORE FOOD AT HOME!

      Good luck with the PE whenever you take it. I didn’t realize that ChemE’s had to take it.

    Leave a Reply

