Skip to content

Thanksgiving Foods Part 1

November 23, 2009

Busy weekend.  Saturday woke up about 10ish to go to the gym where I did one of my personal training exercises.  I did the HARD routine involving pullups and dips!  Sore!  Stats: 48 minutes, 383 calories, 135 avg HR, 170ish max. Then quickly came home to get ready for bells rehearsal in Greenfield.

Saturday night I got home in time to watch a bit of football.  Really what did we do?  Maybe watch a movie.  I know we ended up watching the highlights from the day.  The ESPN ticker was stuck on the Purdue vs. IU score for about an hour!  Must have been happy that Purdue won!  =-)

Sunday, made M go running for 20 minutes.  Actually it started with a walk up the HUGE hill right by our house, and then walk/run for about 17 minutes. Stats:  about 200 calories, 180 max HR, 150 avg HR, 22 minutes. My calves are killing me today!  Seriously, I almost couldn’t walk since my legs refuse to bend!  Must stretch a bit better next time.  Probably didn’t help that I then spent a few hours in heels during our FIRST BELLS CONCERT OF THE SEASON!! 

Anyway, while I was gone, M was home experimenting with sweet potatoes.  Since he is from the south, he enjoys sweet potatoes at Thanksgiving.  My family usually does not have them, so I decided we should make some for him this year (since he’ll be joining us.)  He called his family and got two recipes: “Sweet Potato Balls” and “Sweet Potato Casserole”.  The recipe for Sweet Potato balls was a big vague (a bit of this, a bit of that, add to taste).  So he did a trial run of the casserole.  It’s basically a bit of mashed sweet potatoes, covered in brown sugar, pecans, coconut, and butter.  Here’s a picture of the final product:

Notice the fork in the dish.  We would go by the stove and take bites.  Finally he put it away.  The sweet potato to topping ratio definitely rules out any definition of this casserole as “healthy”.  In fact, it almost makes it a dessert.  We might try to add more sweet potatoes when we make it on Thursday. 

I also had an experiment in the kitchen last night.  Since we had turkey left over from Practice Thanksgiving I decided to make Turkey Tettrazinni from “Clean Eating”.  Here’s the finished product (looks rather brown) and then my lunch for today:

I actually did a half recipe (since the turkey stockpile had dwindled), but included the full amount of carrots, peas, and mushrooms to bulk it up.  I had a bite this morning.  I’m not sure about it.  There’s a weird taste (maybe the thyme?) that I’m not crazy about.  Maybe more salt/pepper will help. 

Plan for the week:

Monday: Tap (unless it’s cancelled, I should check)

Tuesday: Personal trainer (lifting)

Wednesday: running before DRIVING TO THE BEACH!

Thursday: THANKSGIVING! (maybe a walk if it’s nice)

Friday: if it’s nice, a run outside

Saturday: driving back from Thanksgiving

Sunday: lifting

Here’s to another great week!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

