Skip to content

Crazy Stories

August 8, 2011

Seriously, some crazy shiz has been happening to me in the last few months.

First, when we went to go get our joint checking account, I was informed that the debit card in my possession wasn’t valid.  (I’d figured it out earlier that morning, when it wouldn’t work at the CVS next door to the bank.)  Why would it work?  Because I had requested a new card on June 6th.  Ummm no I didn’t.

Then I get this letter in the mail from a collections agency.  Due to my nonpayment of a parking ticket in the city of Providence, Rhode Island, I now owed them $75.  Guess who hadn’t been in Rhode Island in like a year?  And definitely not at 3:04pm on Monday, June 6, which was my first day back from the wedding/honeymoon.  I called and was informed that the description and license plate matched my car.  If I wanted to dispute it, I’d have to go down to Providence and fight it in front of a judge.  After gathering some phone records from work (trying to prove that myself and my car were in Massachusetts at the time of the ticket), Matt and I headed down there last week to fight it.  It took us about 3.5 hours, $5 to park, and 1/3 of a tank of gas, but by gosh I got it dismissed.  It’s the principle of the thing, ya know!

Anyway, my latest crazy story is wedding related.  Specifically, wedding picture related.  A week or so ago, my dad received a phone call from a woman in a different neighborhood of Cincinnati.  She told him that her father had found these wedding pictures on the side of the road, and she believed that they belonged to someone related to my dad.  My dad met the woman and confirmed that yes, this was in fact my wedding album.  You know, the really nice expensive one from the photographer.  We think that maybe someone stole the package off of a porch and after realizing that our wedding pictures had no monetary value, discarded it.  My dad said that aside from some scuffs on the cover, the album was in pretty good condition.  I immediately made a phone call to my photographer asking “WHAT THE HECK!?!”  He then informed me that he had received our album the day before and it was sitting in his office in perfect condition.  Perhaps, the album company didn’t receive a delivery confirmation and decided to send another one.  What does this mean?  We now have TWO super-duper fancy-schmancy albums!  What a good Samaritan that lady was!  She had used a picture of our wedding program from the album to track down my dad.  Thank goodness my maiden name is rather unique!

So our super duper, fancy schmancy NON-SCUFFED album arrived today from Nathan Peel in perfect condition.

DSC03816DSC03817DSC03815

I guess now I really need to get on the ball with these recaps!  I hope that you enjoyed my crazy stories!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Jan permalink
    August 8, 2011 10:37 PM

    Weirdness follows you, I think. (Hell, it explains our friendship. ;) )

    So glad you got the ticket dismissed…I would have fought it too!!

    • August 8, 2011 11:04 PM

      Yeah, I swear that I’m just a magnet for crazy stories! Like throwing wrapping paper on the floor. CRAZINESS!

  2. August 8, 2011 10:38 PM

    I’m still confused as to how this all happened. I am so glad it worked out for the better though:)

    • August 8, 2011 11:03 PM

      It was just weird, but hey, it worked out for the best.

  3. September 15, 2011 10:51 AM

    Wow how interesting! Glad you wound up with 2 albums :)

  4. March 19, 2012 4:00 PM

    So many of my friends have dealt with credit card issues like that- not cool!

    • March 19, 2012 10:06 PM

      Luckily I just keep tabs on my accounts! UGH!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

