Skip to content

No sin for sauce on your chin!

July 21, 2010

I thought of tonight’s dinner while trying to sleep last night.  First of all we have some Montgomery Inn BBQ chicken thawing the chicken breasts that I bought last week.  Secondly, I have been eying those nut-crusted fries on Meghann’s blog (originated from Angela).  I mean coat sweet potatoes (one of my favorite foods since I was a baby that I have rediscovered) with a nut butter (one of my addicitions)?!?!!  Sign me up for that!  I finally tried this out for myself using sweet potatoes and barney butter.  I didn’t have any olive oil, so I used canola.

It was so tasty!  Even Matt loved them!  They somehow reminded me of the fair.  I couldn’t put my finger on it though.  Either it was some reminder of a sweet and salty combo (kettlekorn) or those roasted almonds.  Whatever they were so delicious!  The only thing is, I think I used too much oil.  The fries ended up soggy not crispy.  Next time . . . next time.

After dinner (and some quality MTV True Life reruns), we made it to the gym.  I did a great quick lifting session.  On paper this looks pretty easy, but as long as I kept the pace (and my heart rate) up, I was breathing pretty heavily and my arms were tired by the end:

  • Chest press on stability ball, 12lbs, 12X
  • Knee ups, front and side, 12X each
  • Bicep curls, 12lbs, 12X
  • Sit-ups with medicine ball, 15X
  • Squat jumps, 12X
  • Overhead press, 8lbs, 12X
  • Bent over row on bench, 12lbs, 12X each arm
  • Tricep kickbacks on bench, 8lbs, 12X each arm
  • Repeat 3X

Hope I’m feeling it tomorrow (I love that feeling).

Oh yeah, and s
peaking of Montgomery Inn (like I how did that?), guess who now already has their rehearsal dinner planned!?!  WE DO!!  We’ll be down at the Montgomery Inn Boathouse overlooking the city and the Ohio River.  Matt and I love this place.  Here’s a picture of us from his first visit:

We had only been dating about 2.5 months in this picture.  I’m so excited to share it with our bridal party.  I mean what’s more southern than BBQ?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy permalink
    July 21, 2010 11:12 PM

    Paul says the best way to get crispy and not soggy/greasy fries is to soak the fries in ice cold water for at least 10 minutes, then let them drain, and then pat them dry before you fry them. He makes pretty good fries.

  2. July 22, 2010 8:24 AM

    I love that picture of you too….so cute!

  3. July 22, 2010 8:02 PM

    Mmmmmm….Montgomery Inn Boathouse, isn’t it customary to invite your photographer to the rehearsal dinner? :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

